Samuel M. Turner Early Career Award for Distinguished Contributions to Diversity in Clinical Psychology

This award will be conferred annually to an early career psychologist who has made exemplary contributions to diversity within the field. Such contributions can include research, service, practice, training or any combination thereof.

Deadline: November 1, 2015; November 1, 2016

Sponsor: Division 12


Nominations are now being accepted.


Nominees should be no more than seven years post doctoral degree.

The Society and the American Psychological Foundation encourage applications from individuals who represent diversity in race, ethnicity, gender, age, disability and sexual orientation. Candidates can be simultaneously considered for multiple awards, although a psychologist may receive only one Division 12 award in any given year. No voting members of the Division 12 Board of Directors will be eligible to receive awards from the division while serving their term.

How to Apply

Nominations must include a CV and at least one letter of endorsement. Self-nominations are permitted and should include at least one external endorsement.

Please submit nomination materials electronically to Awards Committee Chair. Inquiries should be directed to the Division 12 Central Office at (303) 652-3126 or via email.

Past Recipients

Alinne Z. Barrera, PhD


John E. Pachankis, PhD


Joyce P. Chu


None qualified


Cortney Soderlind Warren

From 2006 to 2009 the award was named The Samuel M. Turner Clinical Research Award for Distinguished Contributions to Applied Clinical Psychology. Recipients were:


Andrew Christensen


Michael G. Perri


Deborah Beidel


Michelle G. Newman