Anne Anastasi Early Career Award

This award recognizes outstanding contributions and promise of continued work of outstanding quality.

Sponsor: Division 5


This award recognizes an early career individual who has made outstanding contributions to assessment, evaluation, measurement, research methods and/or statistics, and who shows promise of continued outstanding work. The contribution may be in academic, clinical, government, industry or other settings.

This award endowed by the Fordham University Graduate School of Education and the College Board was established in honor of Dr. Anne Anastasi — a remarkable scholar and dedicated teacher — who from a very early age had a major impact on our understanding of issues related to testing, particularly test construction, test misuse, misinterpretation and cultural bias.

Award recipients attending the APA Annual Convention will receive the following:

  • An invitation to present at the convention (length varies by award).

  • A cash award of $500 to help offset travel expenses to the convention. 

All award recipients will also receive:

  • An honorary one-year membership to Division 5.

  • An awards plaque and a place in history.

  • Neither the nominator nor nominee need be a current or former member of either APA or Division 5.

  • Both self-nominations and nominations of others will be considered.

How to Apply

Nomination materials should include:

  1. A nomination letter and two other letters of support that describe the nominee’s major contributions. The letter should comment on the number and quality of publications; the impact of the nominee’s contributions as evidenced by citations, grants, leadership roles, policy involvement and/or translation of theory to practice; and the nominee’s promise for future contributions to fields of Division 5.

  2. Current curriculum vitae of the nominee.

  3. The names, affiliations, email addresses, telephone numbers and mailing addresses of the nominee, the nominator and those writing letters of support.

Please send all requested nomination materials to the Award Committee Chair Mark Daniel.

Past Recipients

Ken Kelley, PhD


Douglas L. Steinley, PhD


Jelte Wicherts


Li Cai


Nathan R. Kuncel


W. Holmes Finch


Kristopher J. Preacher