SPSSI Awards for Outstanding Teaching and Mentoring

This award recognizes teaching excellence in a variety of contexts.

Sponsor: Division 9


The Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues (SPSSI) confers an annual award for outstanding teaching/mentoring in areas related to the psychological study of social issues. This award recognizes teaching excellence in a variety of contexts.

Recipients receive $1,000 and a plaque, and will be recognized in the Teaching and Learning column in The Forward newsletter. Honorable mention awardees will receive one year of free SPSSI membership. In order to build an online teaching resource center, submitted materials may be included on the SPSSI website for public use. Please note that applications may be reconsidered by the committee in the review process for two award cycles following submission.


Nominees should be SPSSI members who have made substantial contributions to students in the psychological study of social issues. To be eligible, an individual must have been teaching and/or mentoring students for at least 5 years full time since the doctoral degree. Nominees may teach at graduate degree granting institutions, bachelor’s degree universities and colleges, or two-year and community colleges.

How to Apply

To apply, send your nomination materials via email to the committee chair listed below. The materials should include the following:

  1. Nominee’s statement (1-3 pages) of teaching/mentoring philosophy, goals and accomplishments, especially as related to the psychological study of social issues.

  2. Curriculum vitae.

  3. Summarized student evaluation data (3 page maximum).

  4. 3-5 supporting letters from colleagues or students.

  5. Other relevant documentation. Examples include evidence of outstanding classroom teaching; teaching in the community (e.g., presentations or workshops that bring the psychological study of social issues to nonacademic audiences); descriptions of current and past student achievements; evidence of one-on-one teaching and mentoring (e.g., research supervision, advising, clinical supervision); teaching-related committee work or scholarship; or the development of new curricula, courses, course materials, or instructional methods.

Send all nomination materials together in one email to the chair of the 2013 award committee: Mary E. Kite.

Past Recipients

Cynthia McPherson Frantz

Honorable Mention

Leslie Ashburn-Nardo


Linda Tropp, PhD