Raymond D. Fowler Award for Outstanding Contributions to APA

This award recognizes an APA member who has had a significant and enduring impact on APA as an organization and who has shown a clear dedication to advancing APA's mission.

Sponsor: Governance


A citation will be read at the August meeting of the Council of Representatives and the recipient's name will be added to a wall plaque that will be placed prominently in the APA headquarters building. A $1,000 honorarium and up to $1,000 in expenses associated with travel to the APA Annual Convention will accompany the award.


Nominees must be an APA member. Prospective nominees for the Raymond D. Fowler Award will demonstrate one or more of the following:

  • A clear dedication to advancing APA's mission.

  • Outstanding effort in advancing APA as a professional organization.

  • Consensus-building among constituent groups within the organization.

  • Contributions that have a significant and enduring impact on the association.

  • Contributions that have a significant impact on the financial health of the organization.

How to Apply

APA members may be nominated by another APA member or constituent APA group (i.e., APA boards, committees, divisions, state/provincial psychological associations). Members of the Board of Directors are not eligible to be nominated for the award during their term of service on the board.

A complete nominations package is required for consideration. That includes:

  • A nominations statement of up to 500 words.

  • No more than three letters of support.

  • A current CV.

Nominations should be sent to Jo Anne Murphy of Governance Affairs.

Past Recipients

Diane F. Halpern, PhD


William C. Howell, PhD


Bonnie R. Strickland, PhD


Mathilda B. Canter, PhD


Ronald E. Fox, PhD


Charles L. Brewer, PhD


Florence L. Denmark, PhD


Patrick H. DeLeon, PhD, MPH, JD


Richard M. Suinn, PhD


Raymond D. Fowler, PhD