NHSC Scholarships

This competitive scholarship program is designed for students committed to providing primary health care in communities of greatest need.

Sponsor: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services


Scholarship recipients serve where they are most needed upon completion of their training. The program offers the following benefits for up to 4 years of education:

  • Payment of tuition and fees.

  • Twelve monthly stipend payments per year of scholarship support.

  • Payment of other reasonable educational expenses, such as books, supplies, and equipment.

NHSC scholarship awards for tuition, fees, and other reasonable expenses are exempt from Federal tax. The stipend is taxable income.

Directly upon completion of your training, you will choose a practice site in a federally designated health professional shortage area identified as having the greatest need. Period of service is 1 year for each year of support you receive, with a 2-year minimum commitment.


To be eligible for the NHSC Scholarship Program, you must be a U.S. citizen enrolled, or accepted for enrollment, in a fully accredited U.S.:

  • Allopathic or osteopathic medical school.

  • Family nurse practitioner program (master's degree in nursing, post-master's or post-baccalaureate certificate).

  • Nurse-midwifery program (master's degree in nursing, post-master's or post-baccalaureate certificate).

  • Physician assistant program (certificate, associate, baccalaureate, or master's program).

  • Dental school.

Scholars attending medical school are expected to complete residency programs in one of the following specialties:

  • Family medicine.

  • General pediatrics.

  • General internal medicine.

  • Obstetrics/gynecology.

  • Psychiatry.

  • Rotating internship (D.O.s only) with a request to complete one of the above specialties.

How to Apply