Fellows Award for Research Excellence (FARE)

This program recognizes the outstanding scientific research performed by intramural postdoctoral fellows.

Deadline: March 15, 2015

Sponsor: NIH


The award is sponsored by the NIH Fellows Committee, the Scientific Directors, the NIH Office of Research on Women's Health, and the NIH Office of Intramural Training and Education, and is funded by the Scientific Directors and the Office of Research on Women's Health. Fellows submit an abstract of their research, which is peer reviewed in a blind study section competition.

  • The 2009 competition is open to intramural fellows, such as IRTA, CRTA, clinical/research, and visiting fellows, who have no more than 5 years total postdoctoral experience in the NIH intramural research program as of April 14, 2008.

  • Visiting Scientists/Fellows must not have been tenured at their home institute.

  • # postdoctoral-level Special Volunteers (e.g., those with NRC, NRSA, or Jane Coffin Childs fellowships and others also).

  • Pre-IRTAs currently enrolled in a Ph.D. program and conducting their doctoral dissertation research at an NIH lab.

How to Apply
Apply online at the NIH Fellows Committee Web site.