2014 APA Presidential Citations

The following Presidential Citations have been awarded to outstanding psychologists in 2014. Members of the Presidential Citation Committee assist APA President Nadine Kaslow, PhD, with selecting nominees.
  • Toni Antonucci, PhD
    For fiercely advocating for issues related to aging and lifespan processes and generously mentoring female psychologists. 
  • David H. Barlow, PhD
    For his lifelong dedication and passion for advancing psychology through science, education, training and practice. 
  • Cynthia D. Belar, PhD, ABPP
    For championing quality education and training, raising awareness of the value of education advocacy and being an education visionary.
  • Nancy Boyd-Franklin, PhD
    For her dedication to mentoring and scholarship in the treatment of African-Americans, cultural competence, HIV/AIDS and community empowerment.
  • Zeeshan Ahmad Butt, PhD
    For his scholarly contributions related to clinical health psychology and his remarkable ability to foster professional engagement and career development among early career health psychologists. 
  • June W. J. Ching, PhD, ABPP
    For her dedicated service in Hawaii and at APA and her compassionate and collaborative approach to advancing the practice agenda and transforming the business of practice.
  • Y. Barry Chung, PhD
    For his scholarship in career development and lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues, multicultural counseling, exemplary leadership and service.
  • Ayse Çiftçi, PhD
    For her passion, conviction and wisdom beyond her age in championing the voice, scholarship and leadership of early career psychologists.
  • Carlo C. DiClemente, PhD, ABPP
    In recognition of his scientific and clinical contributions to understanding motivation and behavior change and developing an integrative transtheoretical model that has advanced the treatment and prevention of addictive and health behaviors.
  • James E. Dobbins, PhD, ABPP
    For his lifetime dedication to mentoring, an impressive scholarship in family psychology, racism, professional development, health attitudes and behaviors, multiculturalism, school consultations, therapy and career-long service to the profession.
  • Carol A. Falender, PhD
    For her innovative contributions to the theory and practice of clinical supervision and tireless service to professional psychology locally, nationally and internationally.
  • Sue Frantz, MA
    For her dedication, innovation and imagination in translating psychological science for the public by educating thousands of undergraduates.
  • Margaret Gatz, PhD
    For her remarkable leadership in geropsychology and psychology education and impressive scholarship in mental health in older adults, Alzheimer’s disease and urban social issues.
  • Lorraine Greene, PhD, ABPP
    For her exemplary service in law enforcement and making sure those who protect us receive quality mental health care.
  • Robert L. Hatcher, PhD
    For his incredible leadership in competency-based education and practicum training and extraordinary dedication to training future generations of psychologists.
  • Cindy Juntunen, PhD
    The consummate counseling psychologist and a nationally-recognized expert in education and training of professional psychologists.
  • Terence (Terry) M. Keane, PhD
    For his lifelong commitment to helping our nation’s veterans.
  • Robert Kerns, PhD
    For his groundbreaking research on pain management and his remarkable leadership within psychology.
  • Julie M. Koch, PhD
    For her dedication to the professional development and training of future psychologists.
  • Mark M. Leach, PhD
    For his multifaceted, long-standing, varied and enduring contributions to education and training in psychology.
  • Jeanne LeBlanc, PhD, ABPP
    For translating Western science and best practices into skill training for non-psychologists world-wide and changing the scope of disaster response.
  • Jon Marrelli, PsyD
    For his tremendous leadership in engaging early career psychologists and in advancing the role of psychologists in health care reform.
  • M. Ellen Mitchell, PhD
    For her leadership in mental health, groundbreaking scholarship and career-long service to the profession.
  • Velma McBride Murry, PhD
    For distinguished research contributions, inspirational teaching and mentoring, and dedicated leadership as an advocate for children, youth and HIV-affected groups.
  • Katharine Hahn Oh, PhD
    For her commitment, energy and skill in engaging early career psychologists in the organization’s lifeblood.
  • Stephanie O'Malley, PhD
    For her impressive leadership and landmark research in substance abuse.
  • Roger L. Peterson, PhD, ABPP
    For his landmark contributions in competency-based education and training, development of innovative models of professional psychology and commitments to the betterment of quality in the profession.
  • Emil Rodolfa, PhD
    For ensuring that training in applied psychology meets the highest standards for the profession and for those who seek psychologist’s services.
  • Anneliese A. Singh PhD
    For her knowledge and dedication to positive identity development for multiply marginalized youth.
  • Linda C. Sobell, PhD, ABPP and Mark B. Sobell, PhD, ABPP
    In recognition of their influential contributions to the substance use disorders field.
  • Trisha Stark, PhD, MPP, LP
    For her dedicated service to the Minnesota Psychological Association and the people of Minnesota.
  • Carol Webb, PhD, APBB
    For her impressive efforts aimed at ensuring that psychologists are competent at initial licensure and remain competent to practice throughout their careers.
  • Erica H. Wise, PhD
    For her lifelong devotion to psychology training and education and stellar contributions related to professional ethics.
  • Katie Witkiewitz, PhD
    For her early career accomplishments, dedication to advancing the science and treatment of addictive behaviors, and service to the field.
Presidential Citation Committee