Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Concerns

Mission Statement

The APAGS Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Concerns (APAGS-CLGBTC) works on behalf of the community of LGBT graduate students in psychology and their allies nationwide. The committee provides education, advocacy and personal and professional development opportunities to ensure the successful graduate experience of LGBT and allied students. The committee aspires to build, strengthen and empower its members through the use of innovative technologies, collaborative advocacy and inclusive practice.


The Committee endeavors to provide a range of supportive resources to students at all stages of graduate school: 

Join our Discussion Group

We invite all APAGS members to contribute to the APAGSLGBT email group, where broad discussions and announcements around sexual orientation and gender identity concerns in graduate school take place in a supportive environment. Send an email to the Listserv® with a blank subject. In the body, write "SUBSCRIBE APAGSLGBT <firstname> <lastname>". Read the details and Listserv policies.

Grants and Awards

APAGS-CLGBTC awards a grant for a project that promotes training and educational experiences in LGBT practice as well as a grant that awards outstanding dissertation research in the area of LGBT concerns.


  • Chair: Julia Benjamin (2014-16)
    University of Wisconsin-Madison

  • Natalie M. Alizaga (2013-15)
    The George Washington University

  • Julia Benjamin (2012-14)
    University of Wisconsin-Madison

  • Matthew Chester (2013-15)
    University of Texas at Austin

  • Nicholas Erick Grant (2013-15)
    Pacific Graduate School of Psychology at Palo Alto University

  • Skyler Jackson (2012-14)
    University of Maryland, College Park

  • Eric A. Samuels (2012-14)
    The Wright Institute