Lizette Peterson-Homer Injury Prevention Grant Award

$5,000 for research on the prevention of injuries in children and adolescents through accidents, violence, abuse or suicide.

Deadline: October 1, 2015

Sponsors: APF; Division 54


The Lizette Peterson Homer Memorial Injury Research Grant supports research into psychological and behavioral aspects of the prevention of injuries in children and adolescents as reflected in the activities and interests within pediatric psychology of the late Lizette Peterson-Homer and her commitment to improving the status of children in the face of the most significant threats to their health and development. This grant is open to students and faculty to support research related to the prevention of injuries in children and adolescents. Funding is available up to $5,000 and is sponsored jointly by the American Psychological Foundation and APA Div. 54.

Support research in psychology: Donate to this fund.


Research should focus on prevention of physical injury in children and adolescents. More information about the criteria on which applications will be judged is available from Division 54. Funds are not provided for convention and meeting travel.


  • Student and/or faculty at an accredited university.

  • Demonstrated research competence and area commitment.

  • IRB approval must be received from host institution before funding can be awarded if human participants are involved.

How to Apply

Nomination Requirements

  • A research proposal, which should be no more than four single spaced pages including:
     - A 100-word abstract. 
     - Description of the project with introduction, methods and procedures. 
     - A detailed budget. 
     - References (all in one MS Word document).

  • A current curriculum vitae.

  • Supporting faculty supervisor letter (if the applicant is a student).

  • Proof of IRB approval or statement that IRB approval is pending.

Submission Process

  • Application materials may be submitted online.

  • To learn more, download the request for proposals (PDF, 358KB).

  • Submit a completed application to:
    David M. Janicke, PhD
    (352) 273-6046

Past Recipients

Catherine Glenn, PhD, Harvard University 


Elizabeth O'Neal, PhD, University of Iowa


Jiabin Shen, University of Alabama at Birmingham


Keri Brown Kirschman, PhD, University of Dayton


Bryan Karazsia, Kent State University


Despina Stavrinos, University of Alabama, Birmingham


Robin Toblin, University of Southern California


Sheila Crowell, University of Washington


Ben Barton, PhD, University of Alabama, Birmingham


Kristen Bradbury, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University


Mary C. Kral, Medical University of South Carolina, Rebecca Routh Coon Research Award 
Jill E. MacLaren, West Virginia University, Rebecca Routh Coon Research Award


Christine Chambers, Center for Community Health Research, Rebecca Routh Coon Research Award 
Alicia Auliffe, St. John's University, Rebecca Routh Coon Research Award


Susannah Allison, George Washington University, Rebecca Routh Coon Research Award 
Christopher D. Houck, University of Florida, Rebecca Routh Coon Research Award