Wayne F. Placek Grants

$15,000 to support empirical research from all fields of the behavioral and social sciences on any topic related to lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender issues.

Deadline: March 1, 2016

Sponsor: APF


The Wayne F. Placek Grant encourages research to increase the general public's understanding of homosexuality and sexual orientation, and to alleviate the stress that lesbian women, gay men, bisexual women, bisexual men and transgender individuals experience in this and future civilizations. Since 1995, the Placek Fund has granted more than $1 million.

The Wayne F. Placek Grant encourages research that addresses the following topics:

  • Heterosexuals' attitudes and behaviors toward lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people, including prejudice, discrimination and violence.
  • Family and workplace issues relevant to LGBT people.
  • Special concerns of sectors of the LGBT population that have historically been underrepresented in scientific research.

Support research in psychology: Donate to this fund.

Must be either a doctoral‐level researcher or graduate student affiliated with an educational institution of a 501(c)(3) nonprofit research organization. Graduate students and early career researchers are encouraged to apply.
How to Apply

Submission process

Past Recipients

Luis Armando Parra, University of California, Davis 


David J. Lick, University of California, Los Angeles


Negin Ghavami, PhD, University of California, Los Angeles
"Understanding Disparities in Health and Academics of Ethnically Diverse LGBQ Students in Urban Middle Schools" 


Rachel Farr, PhD, University of Massachusetts, Amherst


Robert J. Cramer, PhD, Sam Houston State University
Marieka M. Klawitter, PhD, University of Washington


Janna Scarborough, PhD, East Tennessee State University
Peter Theodore, PhD, Alliant International University, California School of Professional Psychology, Los Angeles


T. Andrew Caswell, University of South Florida
Bethany G. Everett, University of Colorado, Boulder

2008 (Large)

Eden King, PhD, George Mason University
Anneliese Singh, PhD, University of Georgia

2008 (Small)

Christine Alksnis, PhD, Wilfrid Laurier University
K. L. Broad, PhD, University of Florida
Valerian Derlega, PhD, Old Dominion University
Nicole Rossi, PhD, Augusta State University
Tracie Stewart, PhD, Georgia State University

2007 (Investigator Development Award)

Mary L. Gray, PhD, Indiana University
Elizabeth Suter, PhD, University of Denver and Jody Koenig Kellas, PhD, University of Nebraska, Lincoln

2007 (Large)

Jennifer K. Bosson, PhD, University of South Florida
James A. Coan, PhD, University of Virginia
Lisa M. Diamond, PhD, University of Utah

2007 (Small)

Eve M. Adams, PhD, New Mexico State University
Timothy J. Bilbarz, PhD, University of Southern California
Andrea Carnaghi, PhD, University of Trieste and Anne Maass, PhD, University of Padova
Debra A. Hope, PhD, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
William A. Jellison, PhD, Quinnipiac University

2006 (Investigator Development Award)

Debra J. Broderick, PsyD and Michael F. Steger, PhD, University of St. Thomas

2006 (Large)

Abbie Goldberg, PhD, Clark University
Elizabeth Ashby Plant, PhD, Florida State University

2006 (Small)

Jamie Barden, PhD, Howard University
James M. Graham, PhD, Western Washington University
Lori Patton, PhD, Iowa State University
Sharon Scales Rostosky, PhD, University of Kentucky
Meifan Wei, PhD, Iowa State University
James L. Werth, Jr, PhD, University of Akron

2005 (Investigator Development Award)

Jane Ward, PhD, University of California, Riverside

2005 (Large)

Gregory B. Lewis, PhD, Georgia State University
Ann Marie Ryan, PhD, Michigan State University

2004 (Investigator Development Award)

Leslie E. Cragin, PhD, University of California, San Francisco
Michelle R. Hebl, PhD, Rice University
Ann M. Ryan, PhD, Michigan State University
Melanie C. Steffens, PhD, Universitat Trier

2004 (Large)

Glen I. Roisman, PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana, Champaign
Joe N. Rollins, PhD, Queens College, City University of New York

2004 (Small)

Jessica Fields, PhD, San Francisco State University
Thomas M. Lampinen, PhD, British Columbia Centre for Excellence in HIV/AIDS
Sharon Scales Rostoski, PhD, University of Kentucky Research Foundation
Esther D. Rothblum, PhD, University of Vermont
Leo Wilton, PhD, Binghamton University

2003 (Investigator Development Award)

Melanie A. Morrison, PhD, University of Saskatchewan

2003 (Large)

Donald P. Haider-Markel, PhD, University of Kansas
Bonnie Moradi, PhD, University of Florida
Larry Nucci, PhD and Stacey S. Horn, PhD, University of Illinois, Chicago

2003 (Small)

Ed de St. Aubin, PhD, Marquette University

2002 (Large)

Michael A. Ash, PhD, University of Massachusetts
Paisley A. Currah, PhD, Brooklyn College, City University of New York
Nilanjana Dasgupta, New School University
Robin J. Lewis, PhD, Old Dominion University

2002 (Small)

Brian D. Carpenter, PhD, Washington University
Ramona Faith Oswald, PhD, University of Illinois
Nella Van Dyke, PhD, Ohio State University

2001 (Investigator Development Award)

Evelyn Blackwood, PhD, Purdue University
Peter J. Hegarty, PhD, College of Staten Island, City University of New York

2001 (Large)

Ilan Meyer, PhD, Columbia University
Julianne M. Serovich, PhD and Patrick C. McKenry, PhD, Ohio State University
Jeffrey Lynn Woodyard, PhD, Stetson University

2001 (Small)

Kory Floyd, PhD, Arizona State University
Monika E. Kolodzieg, PhD and Roger D. Weiss, MD, McLean Hospital
Stephen C. Wright, PhD, University of California, Santa Cruz

2000 (Large)

W. E. Douglas Creed, PhD, Boston College
Nilanjana Dasgupta, PhD, New School University
Sharon Scales Rostosky, PhD, University of Kentucky
Stephen T. Russell, PhD, University of California, Davis

2000 (Small)

J. Michael Bailey, PhD, Northwestern University
Lisa M. Diamond, PhD, University of Utah
Ronald G. Morrow, EdD and Diana L. Gill, PhD, University of North Carolina, Greensboro
William P. Norris, PhD, Oberlin College