Spielberger EMPathy Symposium — Emotion, Motivation, Personality

This symposium was established as a forum for leading experts to present and discuss recent findings in the areas of Emotion, Motivation and Personality (EMPathy).

Sponsor: APF

The goal of the symposium is to stimulate and facilitate the integration and dissemination of knowledge in these important areas of psychological inquiry. The presenters are distinguished and prominent individuals from APA Div. 3 (Experimental Psychology), Div. 8 (Society for Personality and Social Psychology) and Div. 12 (Society of Clinical Psychology).
Past Recipients
  • Frans de Waal, PhD, Emory University 

  • Piotr Winkielman, PhD, University of California, San Diego

  • Terry Keane, PhD, Boston University School of Medicine

  • Laura A. King, PhD, University of Missouri, Columbia

  • Luis Pessoa, PhD, University of Maryland, College Park (PPT, 10MB)

  • Linda Carter Sobell, PhD, Nova Southeastern University

  • Bernard W. Balleine, PhD, University of Sydney

  • M. Lynne Cooper, PhD, University of Missouri, Columbia

  • Leslie Samuel Greenberg, PhD, York University

  • James O. Prochaska, PhD, University of Rhode Island

  • David A. DeSteno, PhD, Northeastern University

  • Margaret M. Bradley, PhD,University of Florida

  • Louis Penner, PhD, Karmanos Cancer Institute, Wayne State University

  • Kevin Ochsner, PhD, Columbia University

  • Lee Anna Clark, PhD, University of Iowa

  • Mahzarin Banaji, PhD, Harvard University

  • James J. Gross, PhD, Stanford University

  • Mark Richard Leary, PhD, Duke University

  • Robert F. Bornstein, PhD, Gettysburg College

  • Matthew D. Lieberman, PhD, University of California, Los Angeles

  • James Blascovich, PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara

  • Timothy B. Baker, PhD, University of Wisconsin, Madison

  • Lisa Feldman Barrett, PhD, Boston College

  • Steven F. Maier, PhD, University of Colorado

  • Robert B. Zajonc, PhD, Stanford University

  • Annette M. La Greca, PhD, University of Miami

  • Michael S. Fanselow, PhD, University of California, Los Angeles

  • Nadine J. Kaslow, PhD, Emory University School of Medicine

  • Elizabeth A. Phelps, PhD, New York University

  • Arie W. Kruglanski, PhD, University of Maryland

  • Larry E. Beutler, PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara

  • James Pennebaker, PhD, University of Texas, Austin

  • Randy J. Larsen, PhD, Washington University

  • Edward L. Deci, PhD, University of Rochester

  • Eric Eich, PhD, University of British Columbia

  • David B. Watson, PhD, University of Iowa

  • Roy Baumeister, PhD, Case Western Reserve University

  • Henry Ellis, PhD, University of New Mexico

  • Edna Foa, PhD, University of Pennsylvania