Committee on Early Career Psychologists

Committee on Early Career PsychologistsAPA has established a Committee on Early Career Psychologists (CECP) who represent the unique interests and concerns of psychologists in the first seven years of their careers. CECP supports the needs of early career psychologists within and outside of APA through advocacy and developing resources for early career psychologists.

The committee consists of seven members representing different constituencies within psychology. The committee members are: 

  • 2014 Chair: Shawn M. McClintock, PhD — Governance and Membership Outreach Representative
  • Kimberly L. Smith, PsyD — Education & Training
  • Kyle Gobrogge, PhD — Science Representative 
  • Katharine J. Hahn, PhD — APA Divisions Represenative 
  • Aaron Harris, PhD — Practice
  • Le Ondra Clark Harvey, PhD — State, Provincial and Territorial Psychological Associations 
  • Angela Kuemmel, PhD — Public Interest

Dee Valencia, Staff Liaison
Telephone: (202) 336-6017

They would like to hear ideas you have, issues you would like addressed, and any comments you would like to make. You can reach the committee by sending an email.

Get Involved

Building Bridges Brochure: Opportunities for Learning, Networking and Leadership (PDF, 58KB)
Early career psychologists need to build bridges that create opportunities to engage, learn, network and become leaders within the discipline of psychology.
Convention Sessions
2012 APA Convention — Orlando
2011 APA Convention — Washington
2009 APA Convention — Toronto
2008 APA Convention — Boston
2007 APA Convention — San Francisco
Personal and Professional Life: A Closer Look at Self Care
Race and Culture in Supervision: What Professionals Should Know
Annual Reports