Section 7 Home


Behavioral Emergencies Update
spring 2000

Return to front page

In this issue...

Section VII Programming at APA Convention

Training Providers of Emergency Services for Children in Violence Prevention

News from the American Association of Suicidology Conference

The Critical Need for Valid and Reliable Assessment

Volunteer Opportunities at the APA Convention

Graduate Student Spotlight

Section VII Election Results

Special Offer for Section VII Members

Section VII Election Results are in!

     Sixty-two percent of the Section VII membership voted for the positions of President-Elect and Section Representative. We are pleased to announce that Dale E. McNiel, Ph.D., A.B.P.P., has been elected to the office of President-Elect for 2001, and Alec L. Miller, Psy.D., has been elected to the office of Section Representative to Division 12 for 2001-2003.

     Dr. McNiel is Professor Psychology (Adjunct Series), Department of Psychiatry, University of California, San Franciso (UCSF) School of Medicine. At UCSF, he is Director of Psychological Services, Langley Porter Psychiatric Institute, and President of the Medical Staff, Langley Porter Hospital and Clinics. He has published over 50 scientific articles and book chapters on topics such as evaluation and management of violence risk, victimization, and suicide risk assessment.

     Dr. Miller is currently Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Director of Adolescent Depression and Suicide Program, and Associate Director of the Psychology Internship Training Program at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine/Montefiore Medical Center, Bronx, NY. He heads a clinical-research team adapting Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT) for suicidal and depressed adolescents, is a certified DBT trainer, and has published numerous professional articles and book chapters on adolescent psychopathology, cognitive behavioral therapy, and DBT with suicidal patients.

     Dr. McNiel and Dr. Miller will begin their terms of office on January 1, 2001. In the meantime, they will be considered President-Elect-Designate and Section Representative-Designate, and will be allowed to participate in Board meetings or conference calls as non-voting members.

     The Executive Board would like to thank all the candidates for their willingness to run for office, and express the Board's hope that they will continue their involvement in Section VII.