Volume 8, Number 1

January, 2004

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564

mefaust@uncc.edu

 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Neal Johnson, Ohio State University, johnson64@osu.edu

Division Representatives

   2003-2004

President

Randall W. Engle

Georgia Institute of Technology

(404) 894-8036

randall.engle@psych.gatech.edu

President-Elect

Alice Healy

University of Colorado

(303) 492-5032

ahealy@psych.colorado.edu

Past President

David A. Balota

Washington University

(314) 935-6549

dbalota@artsci.wustl.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

David S. Gorfein

University of Texas at Arlington

(817) 272-3200

gorfein@uta.edu

Historian

Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 2943216

charles.brewer@furman.edu

Members-At-Large of the Executive Committee

Veronica J. Dark (8/03-06)

Iowa State University

(515) 294-1688

vjdark@iastate.edu

Thomas R. Zentall (8/03-06)

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

Earl B. Hunt (8/02-05)

University of Washington

(206) 543-8995

ehunt@u.washington.edu

Judith F. Kroll (8/02-05)

Pennsylvania State University

(814) 863-0126

jfk7@cac.psu.edu

Mark H. Ashcraft (8/03-04)

Cleveland State University

(216) 687-50322545

m.ashcraft@popmail.csuohio.edu

Alice F. Healy (8/01-04)

University of Colorado

(303) 492-5032

ahealy@psych.colorado.edu

Representative to APA Council

Emanuel E. Donchin (8/03-06)

University of Illinois

(217) 333-9536

edonchin@uiuc.edu

Lewis P. Lipsitt (8/02-05)

Brown University

(401) 863-2332

llipsitt@brownvm.brown.edu

Harry P. Bahrick (8/01-04) 

Ohio Wesleyan University

(614) 368-3805

hpbahric@owu.edu

Board of Directors

J. Bruce Overmier

University of Minnesota

(612) 625-1835

psyjbo@tc.umn.edu

Committee Chairs

Ruth Maki (Awards)

Texas Tech University

(806) 742-3711 Ext. 224

ruth.maki@ttu.edu

Judith F. Kroll (Fellows)

Pennsylvania State University

(814) 863-0126

jfk7@psu.edu

David A. Balota (Membership)

Washington University

(314) 935-6549

dbalota@artsci.wustl.edu

Andrew Conway (Program)

University of Illinois at Chicago

(312) 413-9407

aconway@uic.edu

 

 

 

2003 Division 3 New Investigator Awards

 

The APA Division 3 Awards Committee annually selects Young Investigator Award winners from nominations received from the editors of the Journals of Experimental Psychology.

 

PsychDrollery

(Humor from members and the internet)

Then there was the man who was so imbued with science that he sent two of his children to Sunday school and kept the other two home as controls.

www.psy.pdx.edu/PsiCafe/Just4Fun/Jokes/ScientificMethod.htm

JEP: Human Perception and Performance

Andrew Hollingworth

“Accurate visual memory for previously attended objects in natural scenes,” Vol. 28, 113-136, John M. Henderson, co-author

JEP: General

Nancy S. Kim

“Clinical psychologists' theory-based representations of mental disorders predict their diagnostic reasoning and memory,” Vol. 131, 451-476, Woo-kyoung Ahn, co-author.

JEP: Applied

Lester C. Loschky

“Investigating spatial vision and dynamic attentional selection using a gaze-contingent multiresolutional display,” Vol. 8, 99-117,-George W. McConkie, co-author.

JEP: Learning, Memory, & Cognition

David E. Huber

“Mechanisms of source confusion and discounting in short-term priming 2: Effects of prime similarity and target duration,” Vol. 28, 1120-1136, Richard M. Shiffrin;,-Keith B. Lyle, & Raushanna Quach co-authors