Volume 8, Number 2

January, 2004

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:


Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008


Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564


 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Neal Johnson, Ohio State University, johnson64@osu.edu

Division Representatives



Alice Healy

University of Colorado

(303) 492-5032



Thomas R. Zentall

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076


Past President

Randall W. Engle

Georgia Institute of Technology

(404) 894-8036



David S. Gorfein

University of Texas at Arlington

(817) 272-3200



Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 2943216


Members-At-Large of the Executive Committee

Ralph R. Miller (8/04-07)

Binghamton Univ., SUNY

(607) 777-2291


Nelson Cowan (8/04-07)

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710


Veronica J. Dark (8/03-06)

Iowa State University

(515) 294-1688


Thomas R. Zentall (8/03-06)

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076


Earl B. Hunt (8/02-05)

University of Washington

(206) 543-8995


Judith F. Kroll (8/02-05)

Pennsylvania State University

(814) 863-0126


Representative to APA Council

Lewis P. Lipsitt (8/04-07)

Brown University

(401) 863-2332


Emanuel E. Donchin (8/03-06)

University of Illinois

(217) 333-9536


Board of Directors

J. Bruce Overmier

University of Minnesota

(612) 625-1835


Committee Chairs

James H. Neely (Awards)

SUNY at Alabany

(518) 442-5013


Mark H. Ashcraft (Fellows)

Cleveland State University

(216) 687-2545


Randall W. Engle (Membership)

Georgia Institute of Technology

(404) 894-8036


Sharon L. Armstrong (Program)

LaSalle University

(215) 951-1297


Deborah Clawson (Program)

Catholic University of America

(202) 319-6263






Get Out the Vote

Veronica Dark, Iowa State University


                                                              July 5, 2004

Dear Editors (Kristi and Mark),


It's so nice to be on the writing side of a letter to the editor instead of the requesting side.  J 

The purpose of my letter is two-fold.  First, I would like to congratulate the two of you for bringing Division 3 into the 21st century.  Both the website and The Experimental Psychology Bulletin have a classy and up-to-date look.  This should help the division in its attempt to recruit new members.  Because everything is web-based, we'll be more likely to catch the eye of the undergraduates as they gather information about graduate schools, and because the newsletter is more personalized (e.g., through the addition of pictures), we might pique their interest enough to return to the site while they are in graduate school and, eventually, to join the division.  Congratulations!

My second purpose is to encourage the members of Division 3 to take the time to vote in this year's APA presidential election—I hope they vote in the national election, too, of course!  Ballots will be out in October, but just as in a national election, the campaigning has been going on for months.  It's now time to start tuning in.  Division 3 does not endorse candidates, but individual members are free to do so.  Exercising that privilege, I encourage members of the division to consider joining me in support of Sharon Brehm

There has been a lot of discussion about getting involved in prior issues of the newsletter.  In his words-of-wisdom presidential column in January 2001 Doug Nelson urged us to get involved.  Kurt Salzinger did the same in January 2002.  Harry Bahrick and Bill Howell described somewhat different views on how to have an impact on APA governance (see the January and June 2002 issues).  Voting is the EASIEST way for all members to get involved.  Although science and practice are not mutually exclusive, the majority of APA members do see themselves as more closely aligned with practice while the majority of Division 3 members likely see themselves as more closely aligned with science.  I urge you to check out the information on all five presidential candidates, http://www.apa.org/governance/elections/04candidates.html and then to selfishly vote for the person who is more likely to represent your point of view.  If you do that, my prediction is that you will agree with me that the person is Sharon Brehm

That's it for now.  Thank you again for doing a wonderful job.


Best wishes,



Veronica J. Dark, Iowa State University, vjdark@iastate.edu