Volume 8, Number 2

January, 2004

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564

mefaust@uncc.edu

 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Neal Johnson, Ohio State University, johnson64@osu.edu

Division Representatives

   2004-2005

President

Alice Healy

University of Colorado

(303) 492-5032

ahealy@psych.colorado.edu

President-Elect

Thomas R. Zentall

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

Past President

Randall W. Engle

Georgia Institute of Technology

(404) 894-8036

randall.engle@psych.gatech.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

David S. Gorfein

University of Texas at Arlington

(817) 272-3200

gorfein@uta.edu

Historian

Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 2943216

charles.brewer@furman.edu

Members-At-Large of the Executive Committee

Ralph R. Miller (8/04-07)

Binghamton Univ., SUNY

(607) 777-2291

rmiller@binghamton.edu

Nelson Cowan (8/04-07)

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710

cowann@missouri.edu

Veronica J. Dark (8/03-06)

Iowa State University

(515) 294-1688

vjdark@iastate.edu

Thomas R. Zentall (8/03-06)

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

Earl B. Hunt (8/02-05)

University of Washington

(206) 543-8995

ehunt@u.washington.edu

Judith F. Kroll (8/02-05)

Pennsylvania State University

(814) 863-0126

jfk7@psu.edu

Representative to APA Council

Lewis P. Lipsitt (8/04-07)

Brown University

(401) 863-2332

Lewis_Lipsitt@Brown.edu

Emanuel E. Donchin (8/03-06)

University of Illinois

(217) 333-9536

edonchin@uiuc.edu

Board of Directors

J. Bruce Overmier

University of Minnesota

(612) 625-1835

psyjbo@tc.umn.edu

Committee Chairs

James H. Neely (Awards)

SUNY at Alabany

(518) 442-5013

jn562@csc.albany.edu

Mark H. Ashcraft (Fellows)

Cleveland State University

(216) 687-2545

m.ashcraft@csuohio.edu

Randall W. Engle (Membership)

Georgia Institute of Technology

(404) 894-8036

randall.engle@psych.gatech.edu

Sharon L. Armstrong (Program)

LaSalle University

(215) 951-1297

armstrong@lasalle.edu

Deborah Clawson (Program)

Catholic University of America

(202) 319-6263

clawson@cua.edu

 

 

 

 

Minutes of Executive Committee Thursday July 29th

David S. Gorfein, Secretary-Treasurer, Division 3

 

Present: Randall Engle, President, Alice Healy, President-elect, At-large representatives Mark Ashcraft and Tom Zentall, representatives to council: Emanuel Donchin and Lewis Lipsitt, Secretary-Treasurer Dave Gorfein, and guests: program chair 2004 Andy Conway, program co-chairs 2005 Debbie Clawson and  Sharon Armstrong, and a group from the Science Directorate led by the executive director Steve Breckler.

 

1. Science directorate talked about a new initiative PSY21. Of particular importance is a planned Science Leadership Conference scheduled for 2005.

 

2. Announcement of Division election results: Tom Zentall is the new President-elect. At large representatives (three year term) are Nelson Cowan and Ralph Miller. Lewis Lipsitt was re-elected to a three term as representative to APA council.

 

3. Secretary-Treasurer’s report: We remain solvent financially spending less than we receive in dues. Membership is slightly down: deaths and resignations exceeding new members. Little response is obtained even when we send applications to APA members requesting division membership application forms.

 

 

4. Council report: There will be a dues increase averaging $30 to protect the surplus and avoid another sudden need to layoff APA personnel. A brief discussion was held on compensation of APA administrative officers, which was limited by the fact that members of APA council were sworn to secrecy on the actual amounts. The importance of nominations to APA committees was also stressed. A discussion of APA presidential candidates was undertaken.

 

5. New Committee memberships were announced:

Program: Debbie Clawson (clawson@cua.edu)

Co_Chair:  Sharon Armstrong (armstrong@lasalle.edu)

Fellows Chair: Mark Ashcraft (m.ashcraft@csuohio.edu)

Awards: Chair: Jim Neely (jn562@csc.albany.edu)

Awards members: Ed Wasserman (ed_wasserman@uiowa.edu)

                                 Cathleen Moore (cmm15@psu.edu)

Membership Chair: Randy Engle (randall.engle@psych.gatech.edu)

 

Respectfully submitted,

 

David S. Gorfein

Secretary-Treasurer