Volume 9, Number 1

March, 2005

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:


Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008


Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564


 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Neal Johnson, Ohio State University, johnson64@osu.edu

Division Representatives



Alice Healy

University of Colorado

(303) 492-5032



Thomas R. Zentall

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076


Past President

Randall W. Engle

Georgia Institute of Technology

(404) 894-8036



David S. Gorfein

University of Texas at Arlington

(817) 272-3200



Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 2943216


Members-At-Large of the Executive Committee

Ralph R. Miller (8/04-07)

Binghamton Univ., SUNY

(607) 777-2291


Nelson Cowan (8/04-07)

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710


Veronica J. Dark (8/03-06)

Iowa State University

(515) 294-1688


Thomas R. Zentall (8/03-06)

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076


Earl B. Hunt (8/02-05)

University of Washington

(206) 543-8995


Judith F. Kroll (8/02-05)

Pennsylvania State University

(814) 863-0126


Representative to APA Council

Lewis P. Lipsitt (8/04-07)

Brown University

(401) 863-2332


Emanuel E. Donchin (8/03-06)

University of South Florida

(813) 974-0466


Board of Directors

J. Bruce Overmier

University of Minnesota

(612) 625-1835


Committee Chairs

James H. Neely (Awards)

SUNY at Alabany

(518) 442-5013


Mark H. Ashcraft (Fellows)

Cleveland State University

(216) 687-2545


Randall W. Engle (Membership)

Georgia Institute of Technology

(404) 894-8036


Sharon L. Armstrong (Program)

LaSalle University

(215) 951-1297


Deborah Clawson (Program)

Catholic University of America

(202) 319-6263






Division 3 Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

By Deborah Clawson




Dear APA Division 3 Officers, Committee Chairs, Council Representatives, and Executive Committee Members:

Appended below are the minutes of our Executive Committee Meeting held on Saturday morning. The minutes were prepared by the Program Chair, Debbie Clawson, because our Secretary/Treasurer Dave Gorfein was unable to attend. Please let me know if any changes need to be made in the minutes.

Best regards,

Alice Healy, Division 3 President


November 20, 2004


Attending: Alice Healy, Mark Ashcraft, Earl Hunt, Tom Zentall, Kristi Multhaup, Mark Faust, Judith Kroll, Nelson Cowan, Veronica Dark, Sharon Lee Armstrong, Debbie Clawson


1.  2005 Program Chairs’ Report (Clawson, Armstrong)


a.  The list of speakers who have confirmed and speakers who have been invited but not confirmed for the 2005 conference was read.  Division 3 has been allocated 14 hours of speaker time plus 2 poster sessions of 40 posters each. One of the speaker hours will be converted to poster-session time if the number of submissions warrants it.


b.  Committee members suggested that two fruitful topics for additional speakers would be education and eyewitness testimony.


c.  The committee voted to approve funding to reimburse one of the program chairs’ universities for xeroxing costs of a Division 3 schedule, to include our division programming as well as other programming and award addresses of interest to experimental psychologists. This schedule will be distributed at the conference.


2. Communications Report (Multhaup, Faust)

a.  Many copies of the e-mailed Division 3 newsletter bounce back, and there is currently no efficient way of tracking down changed or new e-mail addresses.  It was proposed that APA be contacted to find whether it will offer a service to e-mail the newsletter then send follow-up postal mail to members whose e-mails bounce back.  A similar service had been available when the newsletters were sent by postal mail.


b.  The committee voted to approve using such a service if Division 3 can afford to do so.  Zentall will contact APA to inquire.


c.  Submissions for the next newsletter are due by the end of January.


d.  It was suggested that Rich Shiffrin be invited to write a column on policy changes at NIH that affect funding for science.


3.  Fellows Report (Ashcraft)

a.  APA is in the process of updating the current fellows from last year.


b.  The committee discussed appropriate procedures for reviewing and approving this year’s fellows materials.  The committee voted to approve the following procedures:  Ashcraft will send to the executive committee the entire list of nominees and a report of any nominee’s materials that are problematic.  The executive committee will then vote on the nominees.


4.  Awards Report (Neely, in absentia)

a.  There is a question about single-authored and multiple-authored papers that might be discussed by e-mail.


5. Discussion of Proposed Human and Animal Studies Division (Healy)


a.  The committee discussed whether Division 3 should submit a statement on the proposed new division.


b.  The committee voted to approve a statement to the Board of Directors saying that Division 3 recommends against establishing this new division and will elaborate if so requested by the Board.  In addition, the statement will note that the proposal for the new division had been circulated to Division 3 members and that all comments from the membership were negative.


6.  New Business

a.  There was no new business.