Volume 9, Number 1

March, 2005

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564

mefaust@uncc.edu

 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Neal Johnson, Ohio State University, johnson64@osu.edu

Division Representatives

   2004-2005

President

Alice Healy

University of Colorado

(303) 492-5032

ahealy@psych.colorado.edu

President-Elect

Thomas R. Zentall

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

Past President

Randall W. Engle

Georgia Institute of Technology

(404) 894-8036

randall.engle@psych.gatech.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

David S. Gorfein

University of Texas at Arlington

(817) 272-3200

gorfein@uta.edu

Historian

Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 2943216

charles.brewer@furman.edu

Members-At-Large of the Executive Committee

Ralph R. Miller (8/04-07)

Binghamton Univ., SUNY

(607) 777-2291

rmiller@binghamton.edu

Nelson Cowan (8/04-07)

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710

cowann@missouri.edu

Veronica J. Dark (8/03-06)

Iowa State University

(515) 294-1688

vjdark@iastate.edu

Thomas R. Zentall (8/03-06)

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

Earl B. Hunt (8/02-05)

University of Washington

(206) 543-8995

ehunt@u.washington.edu

Judith F. Kroll (8/02-05)

Pennsylvania State University

(814) 863-0126

jfk7@psu.edu

Representative to APA Council

Lewis P. Lipsitt (8/04-07)

Brown University

(401) 863-2332

Lewis_Lipsitt@Brown.edu

Emanuel E. Donchin (8/03-06)

University of South Florida

(813) 974-0466

donchin@shell.cas.usf.edu

Board of Directors

J. Bruce Overmier

University of Minnesota

(612) 625-1835

psyjbo@tc.umn.edu

Committee Chairs

James H. Neely (Awards)

SUNY at Alabany

(518) 442-5013

jn562@csc.albany.edu

Mark H. Ashcraft (Fellows)

Cleveland State University

(216) 687-2545

m.ashcraft@csuohio.edu

Randall W. Engle (Membership)

Georgia Institute of Technology

(404) 894-8036

randall.engle@psych.gatech.edu

Sharon L. Armstrong (Program)

LaSalle University

(215) 951-1297

armstrong@lasalle.edu

Deborah Clawson (Program)

Catholic University of America

(202) 319-6263

clawson@cua.edu

 

 

 

 

Division 3 Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

By Deborah Clawson

 

 

 

Dear APA Division 3 Officers, Committee Chairs, Council Representatives, and Executive Committee Members:

Appended below are the minutes of our Executive Committee Meeting held on Saturday morning. The minutes were prepared by the Program Chair, Debbie Clawson, because our Secretary/Treasurer Dave Gorfein was unable to attend. Please let me know if any changes need to be made in the minutes.

Best regards,

Alice Healy, Division 3 President

 

November 20, 2004

Minneapolis

Attending: Alice Healy, Mark Ashcraft, Earl Hunt, Tom Zentall, Kristi Multhaup, Mark Faust, Judith Kroll, Nelson Cowan, Veronica Dark, Sharon Lee Armstrong, Debbie Clawson

 

1.  2005 Program Chairs’ Report (Clawson, Armstrong)

 

a.  The list of speakers who have confirmed and speakers who have been invited but not confirmed for the 2005 conference was read.  Division 3 has been allocated 14 hours of speaker time plus 2 poster sessions of 40 posters each. One of the speaker hours will be converted to poster-session time if the number of submissions warrants it.

 

b.  Committee members suggested that two fruitful topics for additional speakers would be education and eyewitness testimony.

 

c.  The committee voted to approve funding to reimburse one of the program chairs’ universities for xeroxing costs of a Division 3 schedule, to include our division programming as well as other programming and award addresses of interest to experimental psychologists. This schedule will be distributed at the conference.

 

2. Communications Report (Multhaup, Faust)

a.  Many copies of the e-mailed Division 3 newsletter bounce back, and there is currently no efficient way of tracking down changed or new e-mail addresses.  It was proposed that APA be contacted to find whether it will offer a service to e-mail the newsletter then send follow-up postal mail to members whose e-mails bounce back.  A similar service had been available when the newsletters were sent by postal mail.

 

b.  The committee voted to approve using such a service if Division 3 can afford to do so.  Zentall will contact APA to inquire.

 

c.  Submissions for the next newsletter are due by the end of January.

 

d.  It was suggested that Rich Shiffrin be invited to write a column on policy changes at NIH that affect funding for science.

 

3.  Fellows Report (Ashcraft)

a.  APA is in the process of updating the current fellows from last year.

 

b.  The committee discussed appropriate procedures for reviewing and approving this year’s fellows materials.  The committee voted to approve the following procedures:  Ashcraft will send to the executive committee the entire list of nominees and a report of any nominee’s materials that are problematic.  The executive committee will then vote on the nominees.

 

4.  Awards Report (Neely, in absentia)

a.  There is a question about single-authored and multiple-authored papers that might be discussed by e-mail.

 

5. Discussion of Proposed Human and Animal Studies Division (Healy)

 

a.  The committee discussed whether Division 3 should submit a statement on the proposed new division.

 

b.  The committee voted to approve a statement to the Board of Directors saying that Division 3 recommends against establishing this new division and will elaborate if so requested by the Board.  In addition, the statement will note that the proposal for the new division had been circulated to Division 3 members and that all comments from the membership were negative.

 

6.  New Business

a.  There was no new business.