Volume 9, Number 2

September, 2005

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564

mefaust@uncc.edu

 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Neal Johnson, Ohio State University, johnson.64@osu.edu

Division Representatives

   2005-2006

President

Thomas R. Zentall

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

President-Elect

Howard Egeth

Johns Hopkins University

(410) 516-7910

egeth@jhu.edu

Past President

Alice Healy

University of Colorado

(303) 492-5032

ahealy@psych.colorado.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

Angelo Santi

Wilfrid Laurier University

(519) 884-0710

asanti@wlu.ca

Historian

Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 294-3216

charles.brewer@furman.edu

Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

Mark A. McDaniel (8/05-08)

Washington University, St. Louis

(314) 935-8030

mmcdanie@wustl.edu

Valerie F. Renya (8/05-08)

Cornell University

(607) 254-1247

vr53@cornell.edu

Nelson Cowan (8/04-07)

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710

cowann@missouri.edu

Ralph R. Miller (8/04-07)

Binghamton Univ., SUNY

(607) 777-2291

rmiller@binghamton.edu

Mark H. Ashcraft (8/05-06)

UNLV

(702) 895-3305

Mark.Ashcraft@ccmail.nevada.edu

Veronica J. Dark (8/03-06)

Iowa State University

(515) 294-1688

vjdark@iastate.edu

 Representative to APA Council

Lewis P. Lipsitt (8/04-07)

Brown University

(401) 863-2332

Lewis_Lipsitt@Brown.edu

Emanuel E. Donchin (8/03-06)

University of South Florida

(813) 974-0466

donchin@shell.cas.usf.edu

Board of Directors

J. Bruce Overmier

University of Minnesota

(612) 625-1835

psyjbo@tc.umn.edu

Committee Chairs

William D. Timberlake (Awards)

Indiana University

(812) 855-4042

timberla@indiana.edu

Mark H. Ashcraft (Fellows)

UNLV

(702) 895-3305

Mark.Ashcraft@ccmail.nevada.edu

Randall W. Engle (Membership)

Georgia Institute of Technology

(404) 894-8036

randall.engle@psych.gatech.edu

Marvin Lamb (Program)

Cal. State Hayward

(510) 885-3484

marvin.lamb@csueastbay.edu

 

 

 

Support Science, Vote for Overmier and Brehm for APA President

 

MaryLou Cheal

Why vote for APA president:  The president of APA is the most influential individual in APA.  This is the one person who can have the most influence on the things that you want APA to do for you and for members of your group/s.  Often members who are not involved in APA governance think that they do not know the candidates and it does not matter if they vote.  The next paragraph is for you.

How to vote for APA president: In this case it is really how to choose your candidates. To vote for APA president, one must first chose the candidates that one wants to support. The decision is made as to which candidates on the ballot will support ones own goals and then one ranks them in order.  In APA one does not just vote for one candidate and think that is it.  It is important to rank the candidates because of the Hare system that is used by APA.  When the votes are received, the number of #1 ranked votes for each candidate is noted.  The person with the fewest votes is dropped.  At that point, the #2 ranked candidate for those voters is given their votes.  Thus, if your #1 candidate is dropped, your vote still counts. This process continues until one candidate gets a majority of the votes cast.  It is usually on at least the third or fourth count that the president is decided.

Who to rank first for APA president: Which candidates should you choose?  I find the best method, if you do not know the candidates, is to read what they have done.  What they say they will do is less useful, because the president must be everything to all members; so, all say they support academia, practice, and science.  But what have they done?  If they have spent most of their career in academia, then they will likely support the things that academics want.  The same can be said for practice activities, and for research activities.  Thus, I pay much more attention to what candidates have done than to what they say.

For Division 3 members, candidates who have a strong record for supporting science and academia and, thus, are likely to continue to support science and academia are Sharon Brehm (www.brehm4apa.com) and Bruce Overmier (http://www.psych.umn.edu/faculty/Overmier.htm).  Both have been very active in APA governance and have promoted science goals.  In addition, Bruce is a fellow of the division, has been our Council representative, and has held other offices on the executive committee.  Therefore, you are encouraged to rank Sharon and Bruce as #1 and #2 candidates, in the order of your choice.

The important thing to do is VOTE!

 

MaryLou Cheal