Volume 9, Number 2

September, 2005

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564

mefaust@uncc.edu

 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Neal Johnson, Ohio State University, johnson.64@osu.edu

Division Representatives

   2005-2006

President

Thomas R. Zentall

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

President-Elect

Howard Egeth

Johns Hopkins University

(410) 516-7910

egeth@jhu.edu

Past President

Alice Healy

University of Colorado

(303) 492-5032

ahealy@psych.colorado.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

Angelo Santi

Wilfrid Laurier University

(519) 884-0710

asanti@wlu.ca

Historian

Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 294-3216

charles.brewer@furman.edu

Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

Mark A. McDaniel (8/05-08)

Washington University, St. Louis

(314) 935-8030

mmcdanie@wustl.edu

Valerie F. Renya (8/05-08)

Cornell University

(607) 254-1247

vr53@cornell.edu

Nelson Cowan (8/04-07)

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710

cowann@missouri.edu

Ralph R. Miller (8/04-07)

Binghamton Univ., SUNY

(607) 777-2291

rmiller@binghamton.edu

Mark H. Ashcraft (8/05-06)

UNLV

(702) 895-3305

Mark.Ashcraft@ccmail.nevada.edu

Veronica J. Dark (8/03-06)

Iowa State University

(515) 294-1688

vjdark@iastate.edu

 Representative to APA Council

Lewis P. Lipsitt (8/04-07)

Brown University

(401) 863-2332

Lewis_Lipsitt@Brown.edu

Emanuel E. Donchin (8/03-06)

University of South Florida

(813) 974-0466

donchin@shell.cas.usf.edu

Board of Directors

J. Bruce Overmier

University of Minnesota

(612) 625-1835

psyjbo@tc.umn.edu

Committee Chairs

William D. Timberlake (Awards)

Indiana University

(812) 855-4042

timberla@indiana.edu

Mark H. Ashcraft (Fellows)

UNLV

(702) 895-3305

Mark.Ashcraft@ccmail.nevada.edu

Randall W. Engle (Membership)

Georgia Institute of Technology

(404) 894-8036

randall.engle@psych.gatech.edu

Marvin Lamb (Program)

Cal. State Hayward

(510) 885-3484

marvin.lamb@csueastbay.edu

 

 

 

NIH Announces Open Access Policy

 

by Merry Bullock, Associate Executive Director for Science

From APA Psychological Science Agenda

Retrieved 10-6-2005 from: http://www.apa.org/science/psa/feb5openaccess.html

On February 3rd, NIH announced its long anticipated policy designed to provide public access to the scientific data its grantees and intramural scientists produce. In a "stakeholders' teleconference, NIH Director Elias Zerhouni and his staff read the policy and responded to questions. The policy as announced calls for scientists whose work is funded by NIH in part or in full to submit their manuscripts to NIH's PubMed Central for public release "as soon as possible" within 12 months after final publication. Zerhouni and his Deputy Director Norka Ruiz Bravo framed this policy as promoting the agency's goals of increased visibility for NIH research and as addressing the public's demands for open access and a public archive. However, they also made it clear that complying with the policy directives is voluntary and discretionary, and that the timing of submissions is up to the author. They urged that publishers work closely with authors in implementing the policy, but did not involve them directly.

The initial reactions to this policy initiative have been varied. In the question and answer period following the announcement, as well as in news articles, interviews, and opinion pieces following the announcement, representatives from professional science associations, patient advocate groups, scientists, publishers and the public have discussed the policy. Responses range from congratulations on beginning to address the access issue to disappointment that access is neither compulsory or rapid; with questions about copyright, enforceability, implementation and feasibility.

The present policy is a much weaker version than that promulgated in draft versions. According to NIH, this policy, revised after receiving more than 6,200 comments on the draft versions (read APA's comments at: http://www.apa.org/science/psa/nihopenaccess.pdf), attempts to provide flexibility and to promote maximum participation. The goal, according to NIH, is to build an archive of all NIH funded work in a single compendium that will be easily accessed and searched. Further information is available at http://www.nih.gov/about/publicaccess/index.htm