Volume 9, Number 2

September, 2005

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564

mefaust@uncc.edu

 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Neal Johnson, Ohio State University, johnson.64@osu.edu

Division Representatives

   2005-2006

President

Thomas R. Zentall

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

President-Elect

Howard Egeth

Johns Hopkins University

(410) 516-7910

egeth@jhu.edu

Past President

Alice Healy

University of Colorado

(303) 492-5032

ahealy@psych.colorado.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

Angelo Santi

Wilfrid Laurier University

(519) 884-0710

asanti@wlu.ca

Historian

Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 294-3216

charles.brewer@furman.edu

Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

Mark A. McDaniel (8/05-08)

Washington University, St. Louis

(314) 935-8030

mmcdanie@wustl.edu

Valerie F. Renya (8/05-08)

Cornell University

(607) 254-1247

vr53@cornell.edu

Nelson Cowan (8/04-07)

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710

cowann@missouri.edu

Ralph R. Miller (8/04-07)

Binghamton Univ., SUNY

(607) 777-2291

rmiller@binghamton.edu

Mark H. Ashcraft (8/05-06)

UNLV

(702) 895-3305

Mark.Ashcraft@ccmail.nevada.edu

Veronica J. Dark (8/03-06)

Iowa State University

(515) 294-1688

vjdark@iastate.edu

 Representative to APA Council

Lewis P. Lipsitt (8/04-07)

Brown University

(401) 863-2332

Lewis_Lipsitt@Brown.edu

Emanuel E. Donchin (8/03-06)

University of South Florida

(813) 974-0466

donchin@shell.cas.usf.edu

Board of Directors

J. Bruce Overmier

University of Minnesota

(612) 625-1835

psyjbo@tc.umn.edu

Committee Chairs

William D. Timberlake (Awards)

Indiana University

(812) 855-4042

timberla@indiana.edu

Mark H. Ashcraft (Fellows)

UNLV

(702) 895-3305

Mark.Ashcraft@ccmail.nevada.edu

Randall W. Engle (Membership)

Georgia Institute of Technology

(404) 894-8036

randall.engle@psych.gatech.edu

Marvin Lamb (Program)

Cal. State Hayward

(510) 885-3484

marvin.lamb@csueastbay.edu

 

 

2004 Division 3 Young Investigator Awards

 

The APA Division 3 Awards Committee annually selects Young Investigator Award winners from nominations received from the editors of the Journals of Experimental Psychology.  Jim Neely, (518) 442-5013, jn562@csc.albany.edu, chaired the 2004 Division 3 Awards committee.

 

 

JEP: Animal Behavior Processes: Mark Haselgrove

Haselgrove, M., Aydin, A., & Pearce, J. M. (2004).  A partial reinforcement extinction effect despite equal rates of reinforcement during Pavlovian conditioning.  Journal of Experimental Psychology: Animal Behavior Processes, 30, 240-250.

JEP: Applied: Nathan Weber

Weber, N., & Brewer, N. (2004).  Confidence-accuracy calibration in absolute and relative face recognition judgments.  Journal of Experimental Psychology: Applied, 10, 156-172.

JEP: General: Daniel C. Richardson & Natasha Z. Kirkham

Richardson, D. C., & Kirkham, N. Z. (2004).  Multimodal events and moving locations: Eye movements of adults and 6-month-olds reveal dynamic spatial indexing.  Journal of Experimental Psychology: General, 133, 44-62.

JEP: Human Perception and Performance: Christian N. L. Olivers

Olivers, C. N. L., & Humphreys, G. W. (2004).  Spatiotemporal segregation in visual search: Evidence from parietal lesions.  Journal of Experimental Psychology: Human Perception and Performance, 30, 667-688.

JEP: Learning, Memory, & Cognition: Neil Stewart

Stewart, N., & Brown, G. D. A. (2004).  Sequence effects in the categorization of tones varying in frequency.  Journal of Experimental Psychology: Learning, Memory, & Cognition, 30, 416-430.