Volume 9, Number 2

September, 2005

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:


Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008


Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564


 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Neal Johnson, Ohio State University, johnson.64@osu.edu

Division Representatives



Thomas R. Zentall

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076



Howard Egeth

Johns Hopkins University

(410) 516-7910


Past President

Alice Healy

University of Colorado

(303) 492-5032



Angelo Santi

Wilfrid Laurier University

(519) 884-0710



Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 294-3216


Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

Mark A. McDaniel (8/05-08)

Washington University, St. Louis

(314) 935-8030


Valerie F. Renya (8/05-08)

Cornell University

(607) 254-1247


Nelson Cowan (8/04-07)

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710


Ralph R. Miller (8/04-07)

Binghamton Univ., SUNY

(607) 777-2291


Mark H. Ashcraft (8/05-06)


(702) 895-3305


Veronica J. Dark (8/03-06)

Iowa State University

(515) 294-1688


 Representative to APA Council

Lewis P. Lipsitt (8/04-07)

Brown University

(401) 863-2332


Emanuel E. Donchin (8/03-06)

University of South Florida

(813) 974-0466


Board of Directors

J. Bruce Overmier

University of Minnesota

(612) 625-1835


Committee Chairs

William D. Timberlake (Awards)

Indiana University

(812) 855-4042


Mark H. Ashcraft (Fellows)


(702) 895-3305


Randall W. Engle (Membership)

Georgia Institute of Technology

(404) 894-8036


Marvin Lamb (Program)

Cal. State Hayward

(510) 885-3484




Minutes of the Division 3 Executive Committee Meeting

Thursday, August 18, 2005

11:00 am, Renaissance Hotel

Washington DC

Present: Alice Healy (President), Tom Zentall (President-Elect), Howard Egeth, Ralph R. Miller, Deborah Clawson, Sharon L. Armstrong, Marvin Lamb, Manny Donchin, Lewis Lipsitt, Angelo Santi.

  1. Alice Healy noted that David Gorfein was unable to attend the meeting and that Angelo Santi would be acting as secretary for the meeting.  


  1. Secretary-Treasurer’s Report: Dues, Membership, Elections


The Secretary-Treasurer’s report submitted and prepared by Gorfein was read to the Executive Committee by Santi.

      Healy noted that one of the costs not specifically mentioned in the Budget section of the report was that Division 3 covered the costs of dinner for the invited speakers to the convention.

      Healy asked for comments on the Secretary-Treasurer’s report and Tom Zentall noted that he thought it would be a good idea to co-ordinate convention programming for Divisions 1, 3, and 6. Funds to support this initiative would be   sought through a grant from the Committee on Division/APA Relations (CODAPAR). These funds would make it possible to cover the registration costs for invited speakers. This was the practice a number of years ago but not recently. The costs for Division 3 would be approximately (14 x $215 = $3010). 

  1. APA Council Report

      Manny Donchin and Lewis Lipsitt were asked to provide a report from APA council.

    1. Donchin noted that APA is very healthy financially. The science community is largely responsible for this because of the revenues derived from electronic scientific journals subscriptions to libraries, institutions, and individual researchers. Approximately 60% of APA revenues comes from publications while only 20% or less comes from membership dues. Lipsitt noted that the APA publication manual is a big seller, and that a significant portion of APA wealth also comes from real estate owned in Washington. Donchin also provided an update on the attempt to establish a new division on human-animal interaction. While there was an attempt by the APA President’s working group on this issue to rescind the previous (Feb 2005) vote, this was declared contrary to rules-of order because it is not possible to rescind the vote on a motion that wasn’t passed. Hence, the item dealing with the creation of this division was removed from the agenda of the Council of Representatives. In order for it to be placed on the agenda, the protagonists would need to once again get the requisite number of signatures required to place it before council.
    2. Lipsitt reported that Council had unanimously supported a document which advocated evidence-based clinical interventions and psychological practice.


  1. Visit from the APA Science Directorate

      Three representatives from the APA Science Directorate joined the meeting at this point – Steve Breckler, Executive Director for Science, Clare Porac, Visiting Senior Scientist, and Sangy Panicker, Director, Research Ethics Office. Donchin asked Breckler about the possibility of the Psychonomic Society joining APA at substantially reduced membership fees. Breckler reviewed the reasons for being an APA member and for going to the convention. He noted that dues were less and less a factor in the total revenues generated by APA, and that it might be worth looking into the possibility of a deep discount in APA dues for members of a specific list of societies. This should likely be framed in terms of the advantages to APA of increasing the size of its membership significantly by reducing dues   substantially for academic researchers who work at universities and research institutions that subscribe to APA electronic journals.

  1. Division 3 Convention Program Discussion

Clawson encouraged attendance at the Division 3 Poster Session that followed the Division 3 Presidential Address by Healy. There was some discussion regarding the possibility of emailing the Division 3 program to all members prior to the meeting. The 2004 Program Chairs, Deborah Clawson and Sharon Armstrong, were congratulated and thanked by the Executive Committee for putting together an excellent program this year.

  1. APA Presidential Election

The Executive Committee passed a motion which supported ranking highly both Bruce Overmier and Sharon Brehm as candidates for APA President. This motion was consistent with the recommendation of the Caucus of Academic and Applied Psychologists on the Council of Representatives.  Zentall will explore how we can notify our members to encourage them to vote in the Presidential elections and to provide high rankings to both Overmier and Brehm.

  1. Graduate Student Representation on the Executive Committee

The Executive Committee unanimously supported a motion for the President-Elect to appoint a non-voting graduate student representative to Division 3 Executive Committee for a 1 year term. Tom Zentall will make this appointment for August 2005- August 2006, and Howard Egeth will make the appointment for August 2006- August 2007.

  1. The Executive Committee meeting was adjourned at 12:35pm.


Respectfully submitted,

Angelo Santi

Acting Secretary-Treasurer

Department of Psychology

Wilfrid Laurier University

Waterloo, Ont. Canada N2L 3C5

(519) 884-0710, ext. 3087 Fax: (519) 746-7605