Volume 10, Number 2

September, 2006

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:


Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008


Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564


 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Neal Johnson, Ohio State University, johnson.64@osu.edu

Division Representatives



Howard Egeth

Johns Hopkins University

(410) 516-5324



Ed Wasserman

University of Iowa

(319) 335-2445


Past President

Thomas R. Zentall

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076



Angelo Santi

Wilfrid Laurier University

(519) 884-0710


Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

Gil Einstein (8/06-09)

Furman University

(864) 294-3214


Karen Hollis (8/06-09)

Mount Holyoke College

(413) 538-2296


Mark A. McDaniel (8/05-08)

Washington University, St. Louis

(314) 935-8030


Valerie F. Reyna (8/05-08)

Cornell University

(607) 254-1247


Nelson Cowan (8/04-07)

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710


Ralph R. Miller (8/04-07)

Binghamton Univ., SUNY

(607) 777-2291


Representative to APA Council

Lewis P. Lipsitt (8/04-07)

Brown University

(401) 863-2332


Emanuel E. Donchin (8/03-12/06)

University of South Florida

(813) 974-0466


Thomas R. Zentall (1/07-09)

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076


Graduate Student Representative

Rebecca Singer

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-9640


Committee Chairs

Irving Biederman (Awards)

University of Southern California

(213) 740-6094


Linda Parker (Fellows)

University of Guelph

(519) 824-4120


Ann Cleary (Program)

Colorado State University

(970) 491-7701



Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 294-3216




APA Science Directorate News


House Energy and Commerce Committee Approves NIH Reauthorization Legislation
By Karen Studwell

After three years and three draft bills, House Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Joe Barton (R-TX) successfully passed his proposed reauthorization of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the National Institutes of Health Reform Act of 2006, with one week remaining before the House of Representatives goes into recess. After months of speculation about the status of the bill, Barton's office released a third draft on September 12th that aims to increase not only transparency and efficiency at NIH, but also the authority of the NIH Director and the ability of NIH to fund more trans-NIH initiatives. On Tuesday, September 19th, the Energy and Commerce Committee held a hearing with NIH Director Elias Zerhouni and a few representatives from the scientific community on Tuesday, September 19th, which was followed by a full Committee markup and approval of the bill on Wednesday, September 20th.  More...


(Humor from members and the internet)

"Participants" wanted

A Stanford Medical research group advertised for participants in a study of obsessive-compulsive disorder. They were looking for therapy clients who had been diagnosed with this disorder. The response was gratifying; they got 3,000 responses about three days after the ad came out. All from the same person.


Retrieved 9/30/06


Distinguished Science Award Reaches 50th Year
By Suzanne Wandersman

 2006 marks the golden anniversary of APA bestowing the Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award, honoring psychologists who have made outstanding contributions to basic research in psychology. From the first awards given in 1956, when Wolfgang Kohler, Carl R. Rogers, and Kenneth W. Spence were honored to this year when Michael Davis, Marcia K. Johnson, and Martin E.P. Seligman received their awards at the APA Convention, 162 people have received APA's most important science award.

"The APA Distinguished Scientific Awards have been a part of the history of the American Psychological Association for a half a century...  More...

Science Directorate Opens New Office for Applied Psychological Science
By Stephanie R. Johnson

 A new office has been created within the science directorate. The Office for Applied Psychological Science will provide a home for scientists who work in the many applied areas of psychology. The goal is to develop and implement initiatives that encourage and support applied research in both academic and non-academic settings. The Office will also help to bridge the gap between basic research and psychological practice.  More...