Volume 10, Number 2

September, 2006

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564

mefaust@uncc.edu

 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Neal Johnson, Ohio State University, johnson.64@osu.edu

Division Representatives

   2005-2006

President

Howard Egeth

Johns Hopkins University

(410) 516-5324

egeth@jhu.edu

President-Elect

Ed Wasserman

University of Iowa

(319) 335-2445

ed-wasserman@uiowa.edu

Past President

Thomas R. Zentall

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

Angelo Santi

Wilfrid Laurier University

(519) 884-0710

asanti@wlu.ca

Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

Gil Einstein (8/06-09)

Furman University

(864) 294-3214

gil.einstein@furman.edu

Karen Hollis (8/06-09)

Mount Holyoke College

(413) 538-2296

khollis@mtholyoke.edu

Mark A. McDaniel (8/05-08)

Washington University, St. Louis

(314) 935-8030

mmcdanie@wustl.edu

Valerie F. Reyna (8/05-08)

Cornell University

(607) 254-1247

vr53@cornell.edu

Nelson Cowan (8/04-07)

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710

cowann@missouri.edu

Ralph R. Miller (8/04-07)

Binghamton Univ., SUNY

(607) 777-2291

rmiller@binghamton.edu

Representative to APA Council

Lewis P. Lipsitt (8/04-07)

Brown University

(401) 863-2332

Lewis_Lipsitt@Brown.edu

Emanuel E. Donchin (8/03-12/06)

University of South Florida

(813) 974-0466

donchin@shell.cas.usf.edu

Thomas R. Zentall (1/07-09)

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

Graduate Student Representative

Rebecca Singer

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-9640

rasing2@uky.edu

Committee Chairs

Irving Biederman (Awards)

University of Southern California

(213) 740-6094

bieder@usc.edu

Linda Parker (Fellows)

University of Guelph

(519) 824-4120

parker1@uoguelph.ca

Ann Cleary (Program)

Colorado State University

(970) 491-7701

Anne.Cleary@colostate.edu

Historian

Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 294-3216

charles.brewer@furman.edu

 

 

Division 3 Graduate Student Representative Message

Rebecca Singer

My name is Rebecca Singer and I will be serving as your Division 3 student representative for 2006-2007. As many of you most likely do not know me, I wanted to take this opportunity to introduce myself and tell you a little bit about what I will be doing this coming year. I am a fifth year graduate student at the University of Kentucky. My main goal is to help graduate students get the most out of what APA has to offer them.

PsychDrollery

(Humor from members and the internet)

Animated brain humor from those maniacal super geniuses, Pinky and the Brain.  Click on link to open browser page with embedded animation.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m7HnKBjz1B4

Retrieved 3/27/06

 

I met with members of the Executive Committee at the convention in August to discuss several issues relevant to graduate students. First and foremost, we would like to see more students join Division 3. If you are a student affiliate now, I ask that you encourage your fellow students to consider joining Division 3 as well. I encourage all Division members and fellows to discuss the benefits of an APA membership and to sponsor new graduate student memberships. If you, or someone you know, are interested in joining the Division as a student member, please visit http://www.apa.org/divisions/div3/Application.htm for more information.

Communication among student affiliates is highly encouraged. To that end, I plan to start a student affiliate listserv. I will keep you all updated as we make progress. In the meantime, I will continue to update the current student mailing list and send out relevant information via email or letter. If you are not currently on the mailing list or need to update your information, please send me an email at rasing2@uky.edu. I encourage you all to contact me at any time if you have questions or wish to make suggestions. I especially encourage you to share ideas about future newsletter topics that would be interesting and useful to graduate students. I look forward to hearing from you this year.