Volume 11, Number 1

March, 2007

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564

mefaust@uncc.edu

 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Neal Johnson, Ohio State University, johnson.64@osu.edu

Division Representatives

   2005-2006

President

Howard Egeth

Johns Hopkins University

(410) 516-5324

egeth@jhu.edu

President-Elect

Ed Wasserman

University of Iowa

(319) 335-2445

ed-wasserman@uiowa.edu

Past President

Thomas R. Zentall

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

Angelo Santi

Wilfrid Laurier University

(519) 884-0710

asanti@wlu.ca

Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

Gil Einstein (8/06-09)

Furman University

(864) 294-3214

gil.einstein@furman.edu

Karen Hollis (8/06-09)

Mount Holyoke College

(413) 538-2296

khollis@mtholyoke.edu

Mark A. McDaniel (8/05-08)

Washington University, St. Louis

(314) 935-8030

MMcDaniel22@WUSTL.EDU

Valerie F. Reyna (8/05-08)

Cornell University

(607) 254-1247

vr53@cornell.edu

Nelson Cowan (8/04-07)

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710

cowann@missouri.edu

Ralph R. Miller (8/04-07)

Binghamton Univ., SUNY

(607) 777-2291

rmiller@binghamton.edu

Graduate Student Representative

Rebecca Singer

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-9640

rasing2@uky.edu

Representative to APA Council

Lewis P. Lipsitt (8/04-07)

Brown University

(401) 863-2332

Lewis_Lipsitt@Brown.edu

Thomas R. Zentall (1/07-09)

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

Committee Chairs

Irving Biederman (Awards)

University of Southern California

(213) 740-6094

bieder@usc.edu

Linda Parker (Fellows)

University of Guelph

(519) 824-4120

parkerl@uoguelph.ca

Anne Cleary (Program)

Colorado State University

(970) 491-7701

Anne.Cleary@colostate.edu

Historian

Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 294-3216

charles.brewer@furman.edu

 

Focus on Graduate Students

Rebecca Singer, Div. 3 Graduate Student Representative

 

I hope the year has been going well for all the Division 3 student affiliates. This is Rebecca Singer again, your Division 3 student representative for 2006-2007. I wanted to take this opportunity to provide an update on what I have being doing this year.

As always, one of my main goals is to increase student membership in Division 3. I encourage all mentors to sponsor graduate student memberships and encourage participation in the annual APA convention. As always, information on membership can be found at the following website: www.apa.org/divisions/div6/mbrinfo.html.

 

PsychDrollery

(Humor from members and the internet)

Sometimes it feels like many scientific debates have this problem (see link)

http://www.curvyourdog.com/092500-4.htm

Retrieved 4/03/07

 

I have also sent out several emails informing students of upcoming opportunities, such as the Committee on Animal Research & Ethics’ Mentoring Award. This is an excellent opportunity to learn from colleagues in faculty and funding positions as well as to network. The award program is only in its second year, but promises to be as successful in the future as it has been in the past. I encourage all students to learn more about this award and apply in the coming years. If you are not receiving these updates please send me an email at rasing2@uky.edu and I will add you to my list.

I am also looking forward to this year’s poster competition at the APA convention in San Francisco. This is a first for Division 3 and I am excited to see this year’s submissions. I will be working with the incoming student representative to encourage even greater participation in this program in the future. I hope to see many of you this year in San Francisco.

In closing, I would like to invite each of you to submit brief descriptions of some of your research that you would like to share with other graduate students in this forum. I would like to highlight one or two students in each newsletter edition. As always, if you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my service as student representative, please let me know. I look forward to hearing from you all!