Volume 11, Number 2

October, 2007

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564

mefaust@uncc.edu

 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Mark Faust, UNC at Charlotte, mefaust@uncc.edu

Division Representatives

   2007-2008

President

Ed Wasserman

University of Iowa

(319) 335-2445

ed-wasserman@uiowa.edu

President-Elect

Nelson Cowan

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710

cowann@missouri.edu

Past President

Howard Egeth

Johns Hopkins University

(410) 516-5324

egeth@jhu.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

Angelo Santi

Wilfrid Laurier University

(519) 884-0710

asanti@wlu.ca

Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

Mark Bouton (8/07-10)

University of Vermont

(802) 656-4164

mbouton@uvm.edu

Nora S. Newcombe (8/07-10)

Temple University

(215) 204-6944

newcombe@temple.edu

Gil Einstein (8/06-09)

Furman University

(864) 294-3214

gil.einstein@furman.edu

Karen Hollis (8/06-09)

Mount Holyoke College

(413) 538-2296

khollis@mtholyoke.edu

Mark A. McDaniel (8/05-08)

Washington University, St. Louis

(314) 935-8030

MMcDaniel22@WUSTL.EDU

Valerie F. Reyna (8/05-08)

Cornell University

(607) 254-1247

vr53@cornell.edu

Graduate Student Representative

Daniel Brooks

University of Iowa

(319) 353-2031

daniel-brooks@uiowa.edu

Representative to APA Council

Emanuel Donchin (1/08-10)

University of South Florida

(813) 974-0466

donchin@shell.cas.usf.edu

Thomas R. Zentall (1/07-09)

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

Committee Chairs

Mahzarin Banaji (Awards)

Harvard University

(617) 384-9203

banaji@fas.harvard.edu

Mike Young (Fellows, 08-09)

Southern Illinois University

(618) 453-3567

meyoung@siu.edu

Cathleen Moore (Fellows, 07-08)

University of Iowa

(319) 335-2427

Cathleen-Moore@uiowa.edu

Jeremy Wolfe (Program)

Harvard University

(617) 768-8818

jmwolfe@rics.bwh.harvard.edu

Historian

Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 294-3216

charles.brewer@furman.edu

Early Career Psychologist

Network Representative

Jessie Peissig

California State U. at Fullerton

(714) 278-8278

jpeissig@fullerton.edu

 

Council Report to the Executive Committee of Division 3 (Experimental Psychology) of APA

 

Thomas Zentall and Lewis P. Lipsitt

Council Representatives

 

1.      Most important to Division 3, a task force has been assembled to recommend ways of making the annual meeting more attractive for science oriented psychologists to attend and present their research. The Task Force will meet in September and will make recommendations for next year’s meeting in Boston. The task force was established by the Council of Representative and it is being sponsored by the Science Directorate. Nancy Dess, President Elect of Div 6 and Sharon Armstrong, Past-Program Chair of Div 3 both serve of this Committee.  

 

2.      The most important general issue addressed by Council was the resolution for a moratorium on the involvement of psychologists in the interrogation of prisoners detained as enemy combatants at detention facilities like that at Guantanamo, Cuba. Although all who spoke argued against the use of torture and other unethical behavior in those interrogations Council discussed whether that goal would be better served by removing psychologists from the process or remaining present to try to influence interrogations.  On Sunday, after both the Division 3 Executive Committee and business meetings, Council adopted a compromise identifying a list of interrogation activities that APA considered to be unethical.  The resolution stopped short of requiring psychologists to cease and desist any involvement in military interrogation procedures, after the issue was hotly debated.  Much media coverage has ensued since the San Francisco meetings, where eight symposia were held on the interrogation issue, with those “for” psychologist involvement and those unequivocally “against” participating.  Amy Goodman provided one of the more striking coverages on CNN, and part of that program was devoted to interviewing the author of a widely publicized Salon magazine article.  Goodman’s Democracy Now show can be viewed at http://www.democracynow.org/article.pl?sid=07/08/20/1628230

and rebuttals may be found in various APA-generated documents, including a long refutation by the chair of an APA committee which was attacked in the Goodman show. 

3.      Council approved of the use of $7.6 million to redesign the APA website to make it more user friendly and accessible to the wide range of clients who use it, including the general public, students, members, and research scientists.  The expenditure was roundly defended by Jack McKay, the retiring CFO, for whom a great tribute was organized to celebrate the exceptional financial condition of the APA, largely due to McKay’s administration of the fiscal welfare of the organization.