Volume 12, Number 1

March, 2008

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564

mefaust@uncc.edu

 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Mark Faust, UNC at Charlotte, mefaust@uncc.edu

Division Representatives

   2007-2008

President

Ed Wasserman

University of Iowa

(319) 335-2445

ed-wasserman@uiowa.edu

President-Elect

Nelson Cowan

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710

cowann@missouri.edu

Past President

Howard Egeth

Johns Hopkins University

(410) 516-5324

egeth@jhu.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

Angelo Santi

Wilfrid Laurier University

(519) 884-0710

asanti@wlu.ca

Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

Mark Bouton (8/07-10)

University of Vermont

(802) 656-4164

mbouton@uvm.edu

Nora S. Newcombe (8/07-10)

Temple University

(215) 204-6944

newcombe@temple.edu

Gil Einstein (8/06-09)

Furman University

(864) 294-3214

gil.einstein@furman.edu

Karen Hollis (8/06-09)

Mount Holyoke College

(413) 538-2296

khollis@mtholyoke.edu

Mark A. McDaniel (8/05-08)

Washington University, St. Louis

(314) 935-8030

MMcDaniel22@WUSTL.EDU

Valerie F. Reyna (8/05-08)

Cornell University

(607) 254-1247

vr53@cornell.edu

Graduate Student Representative

Daniel Brooks

University of Iowa

(319) 353-2031

daniel-brooks@uiowa.edu

Representative to APA Council

Emanuel Donchin (1/08-10)

University of South Florida

(813) 974-0466

donchin@shell.cas.usf.edu

Thomas R. Zentall (1/07-09)

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

Committee Chairs

Mahzarin Banaji (Awards)

Harvard University

(617) 384-9203

banaji@fas.harvard.edu

Mike Young (Fellows, 08-09)

Southern Illinois University

(618) 453-3567

meyoung@siu.edu

Cathleen Moore (Fellows, 07-08)

University of Iowa

(319) 335-2427

Cathleen-Moore@uiowa.edu

Jeremy Wolfe (Program)

Harvard University

(617) 768-8818

jmwolfe@rics.bwh.harvard.edu

Historian

Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 294-3216

charles.brewer@furman.edu

Early Career Psychologist

Network Representative

Jessie Peissig

California State U. at Fullerton

(714) 278-8278

jpeissig@fullerton.edu

 

 

Division 3 Graduate Student Representative Message

Dan Brooks

 

Editors’ Note: As the APA graduate student representative, Dan is charged with helping “graduate students get the most out of what APA has to offer them” (Rebecca Singer, September 2006 Division 3 Graduate Student Representative Message). His e-mail address is below.

 


I would like to write a future column on collaboration, but what I need are some stories and experiences from other students.

 

In a sense, I hope that this can be a collaboration on collaboration – a meta-collaboration. Beyond your own topic of study, what other research have you done in graduate school? Do you work with other researchers besides your "Advisor?" Do you collaborate with other students? Is collaboration with others outside of your own laboratory encouraged or discouraged in your department?

 

I've found collaboration to be among my most rewarding experiences in graduate school. I've formed some of my strongest friendships, kept myself interested and engaged in my work, and learned that despite each person having their own unique challenges, there is a strong synergy between behavioral work with animals and humans. In my next column, I'll try to expand on my own story and to relate the stories of others.

 

I'd like to hear your stories on collaboration in graduate school, good or bad. If you would, please submit them to daniel-brooks@uiowa.edu. I hope that, together, we can compose an engaging story for how best to collaborate, what pitfalls to avoid, and how to get the most out of your graduate school experience

 

PsychDrollery

(Humor from members and the internet)

http://www.nearingzero.net/sbunch1.html 

Retrieved 10/27/07