Volume 12, Number 1

March, 2008

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564

mefaust@uncc.edu

 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Mark Faust, UNC at Charlotte, mefaust@uncc.edu

Division Representatives

   2007-2008

President

Ed Wasserman

University of Iowa

(319) 335-2445

ed-wasserman@uiowa.edu

President-Elect

Nelson Cowan

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710

cowann@missouri.edu

Past President

Howard Egeth

Johns Hopkins University

(410) 516-5324

egeth@jhu.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

Angelo Santi

Wilfrid Laurier University

(519) 884-0710

asanti@wlu.ca

Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

Mark Bouton (8/07-10)

University of Vermont

(802) 656-4164

mbouton@uvm.edu

Nora S. Newcombe (8/07-10)

Temple University

(215) 204-6944

newcombe@temple.edu

Gil Einstein (8/06-09)

Furman University

(864) 294-3214

gil.einstein@furman.edu

Karen Hollis (8/06-09)

Mount Holyoke College

(413) 538-2296

khollis@mtholyoke.edu

Mark A. McDaniel (8/05-08)

Washington University, St. Louis

(314) 935-8030

MMcDaniel22@WUSTL.EDU

Valerie F. Reyna (8/05-08)

Cornell University

(607) 254-1247

vr53@cornell.edu

Graduate Student Representative

Daniel Brooks

University of Iowa

(319) 353-2031

daniel-brooks@uiowa.edu

Representative to APA Council

Emanuel Donchin (1/08-10)

University of South Florida

(813) 974-0466

donchin@shell.cas.usf.edu

Thomas R. Zentall (1/07-09)

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

Committee Chairs

Mahzarin Banaji (Awards)

Harvard University

(617) 384-9203

banaji@fas.harvard.edu

Mike Young (Fellows, 08-09)

Southern Illinois University

(618) 453-3567

meyoung@siu.edu

Cathleen Moore (Fellows, 07-08)

University of Iowa

(319) 335-2427

Cathleen-Moore@uiowa.edu

Jeremy Wolfe (Program)

Harvard University

(617) 768-8818

jmwolfe@rics.bwh.harvard.edu

Historian

Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 294-3216

charles.brewer@furman.edu

Early Career Psychologist

Network Representative

Jessie Peissig

California State U. at Fullerton

(714) 278-8278

jpeissig@fullerton.edu

 

Graduate

   Student

    Corner

– Jim Broadway & Tom Redick

 

Our topic for this edition of the Graduate Student Corner is funding. Besides securing money for research and to pay the rent, securing funding as a graduate student looks mighty impressive on the CV when interviewing for job positions. In addition, obtaining funding as a graduate student produces a sense of freedom, in that you may be able to pursue research interests that lay outside of the topics normally studied within your lab. Therefore, we present the following resources available for pre-doctoral students to obtain funding:

 

  1. If you are just beginning your graduate career or will be in the fall, you may be eligible to apply for the Graduate Research Fellowship Program offered by the National Science Foundation (www.nsfgradfellows.org).  Students can obtain up to three years of funding if the research proposal is approved. Approximately 1100 fellowships are funded each year.

     

  2. Students nearing the end of their graduate career may be eligible for either the APA Dissertation Research Award (www.apa.org/science/dissinfo.html), which offers 30-40 students $1000 for to fund their dissertation research, or the Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award Fellowships through the National Institutes of Health (http://grants1.nih.gov/training/nrsa.htm), which offers students annual stipends to help defray living expenses while conducting the dissertation research.

     

  3. In addition, several private foundations offer funding for research related to the topic of the organization. For example, Autism Speaks offers two-year fellowships for pre-doctoral students interested in autism research (www.autismspeaks.org/science/research/grants/index.php).

     

  4. Internships or similar positions are often made available through various organization emails. Becoming a member of various organizations, including Division 3, may enable to find out about these opportunities that are otherwise not available to non-members.

     

  5. Other funding opportunities may be available through at the university, college, or department level. Some departments have access to a grant facilitator, an individual who can both help students find available funding opportunities and provide assistance in preparing the proposal.

 

These are just a few of the many options available for students. The time taken to write the proposal can be beneficial in that you can critically evaluate and specify the future direction of your research program. Remember that even if your proposal is not funded, you have demonstrated to your adviser, your department, and future employers that you are serious about securing research funding. In addition, you will gain feedback about your proposal to improve your future grant submissions. You’ll never know if you can get the funding until you try!

 

-Tom & Jim