Volume 12, Number 1

March, 2008

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564

mefaust@uncc.edu

 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Mark Faust, UNC at Charlotte, mefaust@uncc.edu

Division Representatives

   2007-2008

President

Ed Wasserman

University of Iowa

(319) 335-2445

ed-wasserman@uiowa.edu

President-Elect

Nelson Cowan

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710

cowann@missouri.edu

Past President

Howard Egeth

Johns Hopkins University

(410) 516-5324

egeth@jhu.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

Angelo Santi

Wilfrid Laurier University

(519) 884-0710

asanti@wlu.ca

Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

Mark Bouton (8/07-10)

University of Vermont

(802) 656-4164

mbouton@uvm.edu

Nora S. Newcombe (8/07-10)

Temple University

(215) 204-6944

newcombe@temple.edu

Gil Einstein (8/06-09)

Furman University

(864) 294-3214

gil.einstein@furman.edu

Karen Hollis (8/06-09)

Mount Holyoke College

(413) 538-2296

khollis@mtholyoke.edu

Mark A. McDaniel (8/05-08)

Washington University, St. Louis

(314) 935-8030

MMcDaniel22@WUSTL.EDU

Valerie F. Reyna (8/05-08)

Cornell University

(607) 254-1247

vr53@cornell.edu

Graduate Student Representative

Daniel Brooks

University of Iowa

(319) 353-2031

daniel-brooks@uiowa.edu

Representative to APA Council

Emanuel Donchin (1/08-10)

University of South Florida

(813) 974-0466

donchin@shell.cas.usf.edu

Thomas R. Zentall (1/07-09)

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

Committee Chairs

Mahzarin Banaji (Awards)

Harvard University

(617) 384-9203

banaji@fas.harvard.edu

Mike Young (Fellows, 08-09)

Southern Illinois University

(618) 453-3567

meyoung@siu.edu

Cathleen Moore (Fellows, 07-08)

University of Iowa

(319) 335-2427

Cathleen-Moore@uiowa.edu

Jeremy Wolfe (Program)

Harvard University

(617) 768-8818

jmwolfe@rics.bwh.harvard.edu

Historian

Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 294-3216

charles.brewer@furman.edu

Early Career Psychologist

Network Representative

Jessie Peissig

California State U. at Fullerton

(714) 278-8278

jpeissig@fullerton.edu

 

NEWS & MEMBER COMMUNICATIONS

Allocation of Votes for Divisions

Tom Zentall & MaryLou Cheal

 

 

Each fall all members of APA are sent an Allocation Ballot that allows them to allocate their ten votes to divisions, states, etc., of their choice.  Many of our members tend to divide their votes between the divisions to which they are members.  This seems reasonable until you think of the way those votes are then used.

 

For several years APA has awarded one council representative to each division, state, etc. regardless of the number of allocation votes that the unit received from the membership. In addition, in 2007, if a unit received more than 0.85% of the votes cast for divisions, it received an additional representative (if more than 1.86%, it received a third representative and so on). In the last election Division 3 received 0.78% of the vote and, thus, lost one of its two representatives, starting in 2009.

 

When your ballot comes next fall, please consider assigning all 10 of your Allocated votes to Division 3.  Given the system of allocation of representatives, it would be beneficial not only to Division 3, but to small science-oriented divisions in general, if members allocated all of the 10 votes to Division 3. That way Division 3 might be able to recoup our second representative while the other divisions would continue to have one representative.

 

The slate of candidates for the 2008 Division 3 Officer’s election ballot:

PRESIDENT-ELECT                                                 

1) Irving Biederman Ph.D.

2) Mark A. McDaniel Ph.D.

3) Ralph R. Miller Ph.D.

 

MEMBER-AT-LARGE OF THE                                            

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE (Elect 2)                                    

1) Robert G. Cook Ph.D.

2) David A. Washburn Ph.D.

3) Jeremy M. Wolfe Ph.D.

4) Michael E. Young Ph.D.

 

Each candidate will be invited to submit a 250 word statement to appear on APAs website. Look for the APA Division 3 election ballot and directions to access each candidate's statement in your mailbox sometime after the middle of April.