Volume 12, Number 1

March, 2008

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:


Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008


Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564


 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Mark Faust, UNC at Charlotte, mefaust@uncc.edu

Division Representatives



Ed Wasserman

University of Iowa

(319) 335-2445



Nelson Cowan

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710


Past President

Howard Egeth

Johns Hopkins University

(410) 516-5324



Angelo Santi

Wilfrid Laurier University

(519) 884-0710


Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

Mark Bouton (8/07-10)

University of Vermont

(802) 656-4164


Nora S. Newcombe (8/07-10)

Temple University

(215) 204-6944


Gil Einstein (8/06-09)

Furman University

(864) 294-3214


Karen Hollis (8/06-09)

Mount Holyoke College

(413) 538-2296


Mark A. McDaniel (8/05-08)

Washington University, St. Louis

(314) 935-8030


Valerie F. Reyna (8/05-08)

Cornell University

(607) 254-1247


Graduate Student Representative

Daniel Brooks

University of Iowa

(319) 353-2031


Representative to APA Council

Emanuel Donchin (1/08-10)

University of South Florida

(813) 974-0466


Thomas R. Zentall (1/07-09)

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076


Committee Chairs

Mahzarin Banaji (Awards)

Harvard University

(617) 384-9203


Mike Young (Fellows, 08-09)

Southern Illinois University

(618) 453-3567


Cathleen Moore (Fellows, 07-08)

University of Iowa

(319) 335-2427


Jeremy Wolfe (Program)

Harvard University

(617) 768-8818



Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 294-3216


Early Career Psychologist

Network Representative

Jessie Peissig

California State U. at Fullerton

(714) 278-8278



A Message from APA President-Elect

2009 APA Presidential Task Force

James Bray, 2009 APA President-Elect


I am pleased to announce the 2009 Presidential Task Force on the Future of Psychology Practice.  The Task Force will address current issues in professional practice and develop plans and policies for the future of psychological practice.  The scope will include both health services psychology and other forms of professional practice, such as consulting and community services.  The Task Force will also organize a Future of Psychology Practice Summit to be held in May 2009.  We will invite practice leaders from APA Divisions, state associations, the APA Practice Organization, other practice organizations, government agencies, consumers of psychological services, and the business and insurance industries to collaborate in developing a plan for the future of psychology practice.

It is time for psychology to re-focus on the practice of psychology, design our future and make this a top priority of the association.  The timing could not be better, as we have a new Executive Director for Practice, Dr. Katherine Nordal and the APA is developing a strategic plan for the entire association.    I am honored to have two outstanding psychologists co-chair this initiative, Carol Goodheart and Paul Craig.  Dr. Goodheart brings a wealth of ideas, energy and passion to this initiative.  She served the association with distinction as APA Treasurer and many other roles.  She previously developed ideas for a practice summit and graciously agreed to work together on this initiative to advance our profession.    Dr. Craig brings a vast range of experience and talents to this job.  He is a neuropsychologist in independent practice in Alaska, the current APA Treasurer and involved in the oil business.    

We are currently soliciting nominations for the Task Force.  Please email us the names of people you would recommend and include a statement about what they would contribute to the Task Force.  In addition, we welcome ideas and suggestions for topics and issues that you think we need to address for the future of psychology practice.    



James H. Bray, Ph.D.

Department of Family & Community Medicine

Baylor College of Medicine

3701 Kirby Drive,

6th Floor Houston, TX 77098

(713) 798-7752




2009 President of the American Psychological Association