Volume 12, Number 2

Septermber, 2008

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:


Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008


Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564


 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Mark Faust, UNC at Charlotte, mefaust@uncc.edu

Division Representatives



Nelson Cowan

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710



Ralph Miller

SUNY Binghamton

(607) 777-2291


Past President

Ed Wasserman

University of Iowa

(319) 335-2445



Veronica Dark

Iowa State

(515) 294-1688


Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

David Washburn (08-11)

Georgia State



Jeremy Wolfe (08-11)

Harvard University

(617) 768-8818


Mark Bouton (07-10)

University of Vermont

(802) 656-4164


Nora Newcombe (07-10)

Temple University

(215) 204-6944


Gil Einstein (06-09)

Furman University

(864) 294-3214


Karen Hollis (06-09)

Mount Holyoke College

(413) 538-2296


Graduate Student Representative

Daniel Brooks

University of Iowa

(319) 353-2031


Representative to APA Council

Emanuel Donchin (08-10)

University of South Florida

(813) 974-0466


Thomas R. Zentall (07-09)

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076


Committee Chairs

Michael Beran (Awards)

Georgia State

(404) 244-2469


Mike Young (Fellows, 08-09)

Southern Illinois University

(618) 453-3567


Emily Elliott (Program)

Louisiana State




Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 294-3216


Early Career Psychologist

Network Representative

Jessie Peissig

California State U. at Fullerton

(714) 278-8278




Division 3 Graduate Student Representative Message

Dan Brooks


Hi all – an update from Iowa City. First, you should know that the APA convention was recently held in Boston, MA (my real hometown!), and that the board met to discuss a number of issues concerning psychologists, scientists, and members of Division 3. At that meeting, the new Division 3 President (Nelson Cowan) officially took office and the new Graduate Student Representative-Elect (Angela AuBuchon) was announced. I look forward to working with Angela over the coming year.

The APA Division 3 presentation-awards were also given out during the conference. These winners were {Thanks to Angelo Santi for providing this information}:

Best Graduate Student Poster Presentation: Aaron S. Baker

Forgetting trauma: A retrieval-induced forgetting paradigm. Aaron S. Baker, MA, Michelle G. Craske, PhD, and Robert A. Bjork, PhD, University of California-Los Angeles.

Second-Place Graduate Student Poster Presentation: Christopher G. Warren

Sleep restriction shows differences in semantic processing in adult participants. Christopher G. Warren, MA, Rachel N. Waford, MA, Leila Kheirandish-Gozal, MD, Victoria J. Molfese, PhD,, and Dennis L. Molfese, PhD, University of Louisville 

Also discussed at the meeting were reasons that graduate students should consider joining APA. Well, to start, there are a number of opportunities to look to the APA for support during your dissertation year. One of these opportunities is fast approaching: the APA Dissertation Award (http://www.apa.org/science/dissinfo.html ; see also the end of the Focus on Graduate Student section of this newsletter), which awards either $1000 or $5000 to students to conduct their dissertation research. The deadline for the application for this award is September 15th, 2008.

As always, if you have any questions about Division 3, feel free to contact me at daniel-brooks@uiowa.edu