Volume 12, Number 2

Septermber, 2008

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564

mefaust@uncc.edu

 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Mark Faust, UNC at Charlotte, mefaust@uncc.edu

Division Representatives

   2008-2009

President

Nelson Cowan

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710

cowann@missouri.edu

President-Elect

Ralph Miller

SUNY Binghamton

(607) 777-2291

rmiller@binghamton.edu

Past President

Ed Wasserman

University of Iowa

(319) 335-2445

ed-wasserman@uiowa.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

Veronica Dark

Iowa State

(515) 294-1688

vjdark@iastate.edu

Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

David Washburn (08-11)

Georgia State

404-413-6203

lrcdaw@langate.gsu.edu

Jeremy Wolfe (08-11)

Harvard University

(617) 768-8818

jmwolfe@search.bwh.harvard.edu

Mark Bouton (07-10)

University of Vermont

(802) 656-4164

mbouton@uvm.edu

Nora Newcombe (07-10)

Temple University

(215) 204-6944

newcombe@temple.edu

Gil Einstein (06-09)

Furman University

(864) 294-3214

gil.einstein@furman.edu

Karen Hollis (06-09)

Mount Holyoke College

(413) 538-2296

khollis@mtholyoke.edu

Graduate Student Representative

Daniel Brooks

University of Iowa

(319) 353-2031

daniel-brooks@uiowa.edu

Representative to APA Council

Emanuel Donchin (08-10)

University of South Florida

(813) 974-0466

donchin@shell.cas.usf.edu

Thomas R. Zentall (07-09)

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

Committee Chairs

Michael Beran (Awards)

Georgia State

(404) 244-2469

mjberan@yahoo.com

Mike Young (Fellows, 08-09)

Southern Illinois University

(618) 453-3567

meyoung@siu.edu

Emily Elliott (Program)

Louisiana State

(225)-578-7460

eelliott@lsu.edu

Historian

Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 294-3216

charles.brewer@furman.edu

Early Career Psychologist

Network Representative

Jessie Peissig

California State U. at Fullerton

(714) 278-8278

jpeissig@fullerton.edu

 

 

Division 3 Graduate Student Representative Message

Dan Brooks

 

Hi all – an update from Iowa City. First, you should know that the APA convention was recently held in Boston, MA (my real hometown!), and that the board met to discuss a number of issues concerning psychologists, scientists, and members of Division 3. At that meeting, the new Division 3 President (Nelson Cowan) officially took office and the new Graduate Student Representative-Elect (Angela AuBuchon) was announced. I look forward to working with Angela over the coming year.

The APA Division 3 presentation-awards were also given out during the conference. These winners were {Thanks to Angelo Santi for providing this information}:

Best Graduate Student Poster Presentation: Aaron S. Baker

Forgetting trauma: A retrieval-induced forgetting paradigm. Aaron S. Baker, MA, Michelle G. Craske, PhD, and Robert A. Bjork, PhD, University of California-Los Angeles.

Second-Place Graduate Student Poster Presentation: Christopher G. Warren

Sleep restriction shows differences in semantic processing in adult participants. Christopher G. Warren, MA, Rachel N. Waford, MA, Leila Kheirandish-Gozal, MD, Victoria J. Molfese, PhD,, and Dennis L. Molfese, PhD, University of Louisville 

Also discussed at the meeting were reasons that graduate students should consider joining APA. Well, to start, there are a number of opportunities to look to the APA for support during your dissertation year. One of these opportunities is fast approaching: the APA Dissertation Award (http://www.apa.org/science/dissinfo.html ; see also the end of the Focus on Graduate Student section of this newsletter), which awards either $1000 or $5000 to students to conduct their dissertation research. The deadline for the application for this award is September 15th, 2008.

As always, if you have any questions about Division 3, feel free to contact me at daniel-brooks@uiowa.edu