Volume 12, Number 2

Septermber, 2008

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564

mefaust@uncc.edu

 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Mark Faust, UNC at Charlotte, mefaust@uncc.edu

Division Representatives

   2008-2009

President

Nelson Cowan

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710

cowann@missouri.edu

President-Elect

Ralph Miller

SUNY Binghamton

(607) 777-2291

rmiller@binghamton.edu

Past President

Ed Wasserman

University of Iowa

(319) 335-2445

ed-wasserman@uiowa.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

Veronica Dark

Iowa State

(515) 294-1688

vjdark@iastate.edu

Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

David Washburn (08-11)

Georgia State

404-413-6203

lrcdaw@langate.gsu.edu

Jeremy Wolfe (08-11)

Harvard University

(617) 768-8818

jmwolfe@search.bwh.harvard.edu

Mark Bouton (07-10)

University of Vermont

(802) 656-4164

mbouton@uvm.edu

Nora Newcombe (07-10)

Temple University

(215) 204-6944

newcombe@temple.edu

Gil Einstein (06-09)

Furman University

(864) 294-3214

gil.einstein@furman.edu

Karen Hollis (06-09)

Mount Holyoke College

(413) 538-2296

khollis@mtholyoke.edu

Graduate Student Representative

Daniel Brooks

University of Iowa

(319) 353-2031

daniel-brooks@uiowa.edu

Representative to APA Council

Emanuel Donchin (08-10)

University of South Florida

(813) 974-0466

donchin@shell.cas.usf.edu

Thomas R. Zentall (07-09)

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

Committee Chairs

Michael Beran (Awards)

Georgia State

(404) 244-2469

mjberan@yahoo.com

Mike Young (Fellows, 08-09)

Southern Illinois University

(618) 453-3567

meyoung@siu.edu

Emily Elliott (Program)

Louisiana State

(225)-578-7460

eelliott@lsu.edu

Historian

Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 294-3216

charles.brewer@furman.edu

Early Career Psychologist

Network Representative

Jessie Peissig

California State U. at Fullerton

(714) 278-8278

jpeissig@fullerton.edu

 

2009 APA Program Preview &

2008 Division 3 Fellows


 

2009 APA Program Preview

– Emily Elliott, Division 3 2009 Program Chair

We are planning for next year’s meeting in Toronto (Aug. 6-9, 2009) and are looking forward to an exciting convention. This year’s APA president, James Bray, is working closely with the divisions to bring together a new programming format, called the “Convention Within the Convention”. Division 3 has pledged two hours of our programming time to contribute to this event, in the hopes of bringing science to a larger audience at the convention. As one example of this, we are currently working with Division 5 (Evaluation, Measurement, & Statistics) to create a methodology strand as one component of the Convention Within the Convention. We are planning to work with other science divisions as well, to put together a strong program of well-attended events.

Also, we would like to encourage everyone to register early for the convention, so that we can try to get as many Division 3 members in the same hotel as possible. This will greatly facilitate participation in Division 3 programming, and will place you even closer to the fun events, like the Division 3 social hour! As soon as we have more details about the hotels, we will send out a message to the Division 3 list serve.

Finally, you can expect high quality Division 3 programming. New Fellows will be giving presentations, as well as New Investigator Award Winners from 2008. We are looking forward to another great conference, and hope to see lots of Division 3 members.

See you in Toronto!

Emily Elliott

2009 Program Chair, Division 3

 


2008 New Fellows

– Cathleen Moore & Michael Young

Division 3 is delighted to welcome seven new Fellows to its roster this year. Moshe Bar of Harvard Medical School, whose area of research is visual neuroscience, Jason L. Hicks of Louisiana State University, whose area of research is human memory, Darcia Narvaez of The University of Notre Dame, whose area of research is the development of moral reasoning, Charles Nelson of Harvard University, whose area of research is developmental neuroscience, and John Palmer of The University of Washington, whose area of research is visual attention, were all newly elected as Fellows of the APA through Division 3 this year (2008). Michael Beran of Georgia State University whose area of research is numerical cognition, and Marigold Linton of the University of Kansas, whose area of research is Human Memory and Learning, were also both elected to the Division 3 Fellows roster this year. Dr. Beran was previously elected as a Fellow in Division 6.  Dr. Linton was previously elected as a Fellow in Divisions 1 and 15. Congratulations to all.

[Editor's Note: Cathleen Moore of the University of Iowa was the Fellows Committee Chair this past year (2008). Michael Young of Southern Illinois U will serve as the Fellows Committee Chair for 2009.]