Volume 12, Number 2

Septermber, 2008

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564

mefaust@uncc.edu

 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Mark Faust, UNC at Charlotte, mefaust@uncc.edu

Division Representatives

   2008-2009

President

Nelson Cowan

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710

cowann@missouri.edu

President-Elect

Ralph Miller

SUNY Binghamton

(607) 777-2291

rmiller@binghamton.edu

Past President

Ed Wasserman

University of Iowa

(319) 335-2445

ed-wasserman@uiowa.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

Veronica Dark

Iowa State

(515) 294-1688

vjdark@iastate.edu

Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

David Washburn (08-11)

Georgia State

404-413-6203

lrcdaw@langate.gsu.edu

Jeremy Wolfe (08-11)

Harvard University

(617) 768-8818

jmwolfe@search.bwh.harvard.edu

Mark Bouton (07-10)

University of Vermont

(802) 656-4164

mbouton@uvm.edu

Nora Newcombe (07-10)

Temple University

(215) 204-6944

newcombe@temple.edu

Gil Einstein (06-09)

Furman University

(864) 294-3214

gil.einstein@furman.edu

Karen Hollis (06-09)

Mount Holyoke College

(413) 538-2296

khollis@mtholyoke.edu

Graduate Student Representative

Daniel Brooks

University of Iowa

(319) 353-2031

daniel-brooks@uiowa.edu

Representative to APA Council

Emanuel Donchin (08-10)

University of South Florida

(813) 974-0466

donchin@shell.cas.usf.edu

Thomas R. Zentall (07-09)

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

Committee Chairs

Michael Beran (Awards)

Georgia State

(404) 244-2469

mjberan@yahoo.com

Mike Young (Fellows, 08-09)

Southern Illinois University

(618) 453-3567

meyoung@siu.edu

Emily Elliott (Program)

Louisiana State

(225)-578-7460

eelliott@lsu.edu

Historian

Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 294-3216

charles.brewer@furman.edu

Early Career Psychologist

Network Representative

Jessie Peissig

California State U. at Fullerton

(714) 278-8278

jpeissig@fullerton.edu

 

2007 Young Investigator Awards

– Mahzarin Banaji

[Editor's Note: Division 3 has the editors of the JEP journals identify the best paper by a young investigator in their journal]

Timothy M. Flemming

Language Research Center

Georgia State University

P.O. Box 5010, Atlanta, GA 30302-5010

E-mail: tflemming1@gsu.edu  

Flemming, T.M., Beran, M.J., & Washburn, D. A. (2007). Disconnect in Concept Learning by Rhesus Monkeys (Macaca mulatta): Judgment of Relations and Relations-Between-Relations. Journal of Experimental Psychology: Animal Behavior Processes, 33, 55-63.

 

David Landy

Department of Computer Science

Indiana University

Bloomington, IN, 47405

E-mail: dlandy@cs.indiana.edu

Landy, D., & Goldstone, R.L. (2007) How Abstract Is Symbolic Thought? Journal of Experimental Psychology: Learning, Memory, and Cognition, 33, 720-733.

 

Michael J. Proulx

The Institute of Experimental Psychology II

Bldg 23.03, 00.48, Universiatsstrasse 1

Heinrich Heine University Dusseldorf

Dusseldorf D-40225, Germany

E-mail: mproulxjhu@gmail.com

Proulx, M.J. (2007) Bottom-Up Guidance in Visual Search for Conjunctions. Journal of Experimental Psychology: Human Perception and Performance, 33, 48-56.

 

Justin N. Wood

Harvard University

Department of Psychology

33 Kirkland Street

Cambridge, MA 02138

E-mail: jwood@wjh.harvard.edu  

Wood, J.N. (2007). Visual Working Memory for Observed Actions. Journal of Experimental Psychology: General, 136, 639-652.

 

Tiffany S. Jastrzembski

Department of Psychology

Florida State University

1107 W Call Street

Tallahassee, FL 32306-4301.

E-mail: tiffany.jastrzembski@mesa.afmc.af.mil

Jastrzembski, T. S. & Charness, N.  (2007). The Model Human Processor and the Older Adult: Parameter Estimation and Validation Within a Mobile Phone Task. Journal of Experimental Psychology: Applied, 13, 224-248.