Volume 13, Number 1

March, 2009

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

(704) 894-2008

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Mark E. Faust

Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

(704) 687-3564

mefaust@uncc.edu

 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Mark Faust, UNC at Charlotte, mefaust@uncc.edu

Division Representatives

   2008-2009

President

Nelson Cowan

University of Missouri

(573) 882-7710

cowann@missouri.edu

President-Elect

Ralph Miller

SUNY Binghamton

(607) 777-2291

rmiller@binghamton.edu

Past President

Ed Wasserman

University of Iowa

(319) 335-2445

ed-wasserman@uiowa.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

Veronica Dark

Iowa State

(515) 294-1688

vjdark@iastate.edu

Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

David Washburn (08-11)

Georgia State

404-413-6203

lrcdaw@langate.gsu.edu

Jeremy Wolfe (08-11)

Harvard University

(617) 768-8818

jmwolfe@search.bwh.harvard.edu

Mark Bouton (07-10)

University of Vermont

(802) 656-4164

mbouton@uvm.edu

Nora Newcombe (07-10)

Temple University

(215) 204-6944

newcombe@temple.edu

Gil Einstein (06-09)

Furman University

(864) 294-3214

gil.einstein@furman.edu

Karen Hollis (06-09)

Mount Holyoke College

(413) 538-2296

khollis@mtholyoke.edu

Graduate Student Representative

Daniel Brooks

University of Iowa

(319) 353-2031

daniel-brooks@uiowa.edu

Representative to APA Council

Emanuel Donchin (08-10)

University of South Florida

(813) 974-0466

donchin@shell.cas.usf.edu

Thomas R. Zentall (07-09)

University of Kentucky

(859) 257-4076

zentall@uky.edu

Committee Chairs

Michael Beran (Awards)

Georgia State

(404) 244-2469

mjberan@yahoo.com

Mike Young (Fellows)

Southern Illinois University

(618) 453-3567

meyoung@siu.edu

Emily Elliott (Program)

Louisiana State

(225)-578-7460

eelliott@lsu.edu

Historian

Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

(803) 294-3216

charles.brewer@furman.edu

Early Career Psychologist

Network Representative

Jessie Peissig

California State U. at Fullerton

(714) 278-8278

jpeissig@fullerton.edu

 

Division Report

 

2009 APA Program Preview

 

Emily Elliot

Get ready to make your travel plans for August 6-9th, 2009, in Toronto. The APA convention schedule is filled with great opportunities for high quality presentations. Division 3 has a slate of very interesting speakers, and has worked closely with several other divisions to make sure that the entire conference contains relevant scientific information. In addition, we are participating in the Convention within the Convention, and are happy to feature Dr. John Wixted, who will be presenting his work with ROC analyses.

Other great sessions include talks on aging and the resulting changes in cognition, emotion, and language (including Lynn Hasher, Meredyth Daneman, Dave Balota, Susan Charles, and Gus Craik) and a well-rounded symposium on comparative and developmental cognition (including Jonathon Crystal, Robert Hampton, David Smith, Lauren Adamson, and Simona Ghetti). The presidential address will be delivered by Nelson Cowan, who will discuss the development of working memory and “keeping things in an all-purpose basket”. The list of exciting speakers could continue, as our program is just packed!

Also, we would like to encourage everyone to register early for the convention, so that we can try to get as many Division 3 members in the same hotel as possible. This will greatly facilitate participation in Division 3 programming, and will place you even closer to fun events, like Divisions’ 3 and 6 joint social hour! APA has published the convention website, which contains more details (www.apa.org/convention09). Registration for the conference and for the hotels will open on April 15th. If we all try to register for the Intercontinental Toronto Centre Hotel, that will place us closest to the convention center.

Finally, you can look forward to lots of collegial interactions with other researchers. New Fellows Jason Hicks, Darcia Narvaez, and Charles Nelson will be giving presentations on their research on false memories, moral development, and the effects of early experience on brain development, respectively. You won’t want to miss the New Investigator Award Winners from 2008 either: Timothy Flemming, David Landy, Michael Proulx, Justin Wood, and Tiffany Jastrzembski. We are looking forward to a stimulating conference, and hope to see lots of Division 3 members. Get your passport ready, and I’ll see you in Toronto!

 

Emily Elliott

2009 Program Chair, Division 3