Volume 13, Number 2

September, 2009

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Mark E. Faust

UNC at Charlotte

mefaust@uncc.edu

 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Mark Faust, UNC at Charlotte, mefaust@uncc.edu

Division Representatives

   2009-2010

President

Ralph Miller

SUNY Binghamton

rmiller@binghamton.edu

President-Elect

Jeremy Wolfe

Brigham and Women's Hospital

Harvard Medical School

jmwolfe@search.bwh.harvard.edu

Past President

Nelson Cowan

University of Missouri

cowann@missouri.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

Veronica Dark

Iowa State

vjdark@iastate.edu

Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

Bob Cook (09-12)

Tufts University

rcook1@tufts.edu

Nancy Dess (09-12)

Occidental College

dessnk@oxy.edu

David Washburn (08-11)

Georgia State

lrcdaw@langate.gsu.edu

Jeremy Wolfe (08-11)

Harvard University

jmwolfe@search.bwh.harvard.edu

Mark Bouton (07-10)

University of Vermont

mbouton@uvm.edu

Nora Newcombe (07-10)

Temple University

newcombe@temple.edu

Graduate Student Representative

Angela AuBuchon

U. Missouri

amam87@mizzou.edu

Representative to APA Council

Randy Engle (10-12)

Georgia Tech

randall.engle@psych.gatech.edu

Emanuel Donchin (08-10)

University of South Florida

donchin@shell.cas.usf.edu

Committee Chairs

Janet Duchek (Awards)

Wash. U., St. Louis

jduchek@artsci.wustl.edu

Lisa Savage (Fellows)

SUNY Binghamtom

lsavage@binghamton.edu

John Wixted (Program)

UCSD

jwixted@ucsd.edu

Historian

Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

charles.brewer@furman.edu

Early Career Psychologist

Network Representative

Jessie Peissig

California State U. at Fullerton

jpeissig@fullerton.edu

 

 

Division 3 Graduate Student Representative Message

 

Angela AuBuchon

U. Missouri

amam87@mizzou.edu

 

 

First, I would like to take a sentence or two to introduce myself.  My name is Angela AuBuchon.  I am beginning my fourth year at the University of Missouri, and in addition to serving as your new Division 3 Student Representative, I spend my time studying individual differences in working memory capacity.

 

The Division 3 Student Representative is charged with helping students get the most out of their APA membership.  Interestingly, this seemed to be the unofficial theme of the 2009 APA Convention in Toronto as the following three questions came up time and time again.  I have tried to compile for you the many responses I heard throughout the convention.

 

What can APA do for you?

APA is the largest political voice for psychologists at the federal level.  To get a sense of the advocacy work that APA does, visit their Government Relations Office website at http://www.apa.org/ppo/.  Being a member of Division 3 (and maintaining that membership once you graduate), is an effective way to make sure your concerns as an Experimental Psychologist are represented by APA.

 

But that is a bit abstract, right? Can APA do anything for you directly? Absolutely! APA and the APA Graduate Student Association (APAGS), have a number of awards and fellowship opportunities:

1. To be an advocate mentioned above, check out graduate student internships http://www.apa.org/ppo/fellows/ offered by the Government Relations Office.

2. The APA Science Directorate offers a number of scholarships and research awards http://www.apa.org/science/funding.html. Check them out soon because the Dissertation Research Award deadline is September 15.

3. Scholarships and awards given by APAGS can be found at http://www.apa.org/apags/members/schawrdsintro.html

 

What can Division 3 do for you?

Being a part of Division 3 allows you to network with faculty members and fellow graduate students from across the country, all of whom share an interest in experimental psychology.  Additionally, Division 3 has five APA journals dedicated to experimental psychology, providing you with multiple outlets to publish your research.

 

What can you do for APA and Division 3?

SHARE YOUR RESEARCH! Whether you publish in an APA journal or present at the APA convention, disseminating your research to the other members of APA will help those members maintain a high quality of psychological research and practice themselves.  You might also consider holding a student leader position.  If you are interested in learning more about the Division 3 Student Representative position, or any of the positions available through APAGS, please contact me at amam87@mail.missouri.edu!