Volume 13, Number 2

September, 2009

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Mark E. Faust

UNC at Charlotte

mefaust@uncc.edu

 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Mark Faust, UNC at Charlotte, mefaust@uncc.edu

Division Representatives

   2009-2010

President

Ralph Miller

SUNY Binghamton

rmiller@binghamton.edu

President-Elect

Jeremy Wolfe

Brigham and Women's Hospital

Harvard Medical School

jmwolfe@search.bwh.harvard.edu

Past President

Nelson Cowan

University of Missouri

cowann@missouri.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

Veronica Dark

Iowa State

vjdark@iastate.edu

Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

Bob Cook (09-12)

Tufts University

rcook1@tufts.edu

Nancy Dess (09-12)

Occidental College

dessnk@oxy.edu

David Washburn (08-11)

Georgia State

lrcdaw@langate.gsu.edu

Jeremy Wolfe (08-11)

Harvard University

jmwolfe@search.bwh.harvard.edu

Mark Bouton (07-10)

University of Vermont

mbouton@uvm.edu

Nora Newcombe (07-10)

Temple University

newcombe@temple.edu

Graduate Student Representative

Angela AuBuchon

U. Missouri

amam87@mizzou.edu

Representative to APA Council

Randy Engle (10-12)

Georgia Tech

randall.engle@psych.gatech.edu

Emanuel Donchin (08-10)

University of South Florida

donchin@shell.cas.usf.edu

Committee Chairs

Janet Duchek (Awards)

Wash. U., St. Louis

jduchek@artsci.wustl.edu

Lisa Savage (Fellows)

SUNY Binghamtom

lsavage@binghamton.edu

John Wixted (Program)

UCSD

jwixted@ucsd.edu

Historian

Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

charles.brewer@furman.edu

Early Career Psychologist

Network Representative

Jessie Peissig

California State U. at Fullerton

jpeissig@fullerton.edu

 

 

2009 APA Program Retrospective

 

Emily Elliot

Division 3 Program Chair, 2009

 

 

The APA Convention in Toronto brought together many of our committed and dedicated scientists, who share the goals of helping to maintain the presence of Division 3 in APA, and to communicate to others the importance of science within the APA. This year’s convention served to reinforce these goals.

 

From the standpoint of the program chair, working with Division 3 President Nelson Cowan was a pleasure, and his vision of sharing and connecting with others in Psychology took the program in a new direction. Several of the sessions at the 2009 meeting offered Continuing Education credits (or CEs). Although we are waiting on the final numbers, it is our belief that this practice helped to increase attendance at the sessions that offered CEs. Having said that, attendance at the non-CE sessions was still strong, which helped to make the Toronto meeting a success.

 

The main themes of the sessions were: Advances in Research using the Stroop Task, Experimental Aging Research, Developmental and Comparative Metacognition, and Animal Learning. In addition, two symposia were organized for the New Fellows and the JEP Award Winners. These sessions were excellent, and showcased some of the exciting research that is currently being conducted in the many different domains that represent our division. The other new element to the meeting was the Convention within the Convention (CwC). Division 3 donated two hours of our programming to the CwC for a Methodology track. This was done in coordination with Division 5, and two sessions were organized: John Wixted’s on ROC curves and recognition memory, and the Methods in Functional Neuroimaging session.

 

One element of the convention that was a bit difficult was navigating the array of available sessions, and locating the scientifically-relevant programming. I worked in close contact with Division 6 and 7, Division 5 for the CwC, and also had contact with Divisions 20 and 25. This form of a grass-roots network enabled us to identify some of the sessions of interest that were shared between our potential audiences, but there were the inevitable conflicts. Hopefully, improvements can be made to the APA website for the convention that will facilitate the process of selecting which sessions the convention goers choose to attend.

 

I would like to thank those of you that agreed to present, to chair, and/or to judge the graduate student entries in the poster session. I would also like to thank those who attended our sessions. This year’s meeting was full of stimulating scientific presentations that drew a solid audience. With sufficient communication between the division’s officers from one year to the next, perhaps we can continue to build upon our experiences to enhance our APA presence.

 

Best wishes for San Diego in 2010!