Volume 13, Number 2

September, 2009

Submissions Welcome!

The Editors encourage submission of any announcements, and/or letters to the editors, regarding psychological science. 

Comments on the content and presentation of the newsletter are also appreciated.

Submit to:

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Editors, The Experimental Psychology Bulletin

Kristi S. Multhaup

Davidson College

krmulthaup@davidson.edu

Mark E. Faust

UNC at Charlotte

mefaust@uncc.edu

 Humor Needed…

Why waste your time subjecting your family and friends to your humor when you can elicit guffaws from your colleagues?  Send us your science related humor: krmulthaup@davidson.edu 

Division 3 E-mail Listserve Access

Subscribe to the Division 3 E-mail network to keep informed about Division 3 and issues regarding psychological science.  This is a monitored network to keep the number of e-mails down.

Subscribe:  Send an e-mail to listserv@lists.apa.org.  Leave the Subject line blank and type “subscribe div3” in the body of the message.

Send a Message (once subscribed):  div3@lists.apa.org

Questions:  Send e-mail to Mark Faust, UNC at Charlotte, mefaust@uncc.edu

Division Representatives

   2009-2010

President

Ralph Miller

SUNY Binghamton

rmiller@binghamton.edu

President-Elect

Jeremy Wolfe

Brigham and Women's Hospital

Harvard Medical School

jmwolfe@search.bwh.harvard.edu

Past President

Nelson Cowan

University of Missouri

cowann@missouri.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

Veronica Dark

Iowa State

vjdark@iastate.edu

Members-At-Large of the

Executive Committee

Bob Cook (09-12)

Tufts University

rcook1@tufts.edu

Nancy Dess (09-12)

Occidental College

dessnk@oxy.edu

David Washburn (08-11)

Georgia State

lrcdaw@langate.gsu.edu

Jeremy Wolfe (08-11)

Harvard University

jmwolfe@search.bwh.harvard.edu

Mark Bouton (07-10)

University of Vermont

mbouton@uvm.edu

Nora Newcombe (07-10)

Temple University

newcombe@temple.edu

Graduate Student Representative

Angela AuBuchon

U. Missouri

amam87@mizzou.edu

Representative to APA Council

Randy Engle (10-12)

Georgia Tech

randall.engle@psych.gatech.edu

Emanuel Donchin (08-10)

University of South Florida

donchin@shell.cas.usf.edu

Committee Chairs

Janet Duchek (Awards)

Wash. U., St. Louis

jduchek@artsci.wustl.edu

Lisa Savage (Fellows)

SUNY Binghamtom

lsavage@binghamton.edu

John Wixted (Program)

UCSD

jwixted@ucsd.edu

Historian

Charles L. Brewer

Furman University

charles.brewer@furman.edu

Early Career Psychologist

Network Representative

Jessie Peissig

California State U. at Fullerton

jpeissig@fullerton.edu

 

 

2008 Young Investigator Awards

 

Mike Beran

Division 3 Awards Chair, 2009

 

Award Ceremony at 2009 APA Convention

 

Incoming Division 3 President, Ralph Miller congratulates

outgoing Division 3 President, Nelson Cowan

 

Karl Healy, 1st place winner of the Graduate Student Poster Competition accepts an award from outgoing President Cowan.

 

Mitchel Meltzer, the 2nd place winner, received his plaque prior to heading to the airport.

 

 

 

 

[Editor's Note: Division 3 has the editors of the JEP journals identify the best paper by a young investigator in their journal]

 

2008 Young Investigator Awards

 

Gary Lupyan

Department of Psychology

Carnegie Mellon University

Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3890

Email - glupyan@cnbc.cmu.edu

Lupyan, G. (2008). From chair to "chair": A representational shift account of object labeling effects on memory. Journal of Experimental Psychology: General, 137, 348-369.

 

Daniel S. Wheeler

Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences

Johns Hopkins University

3400 North Charles Street

Baltimore, MD 21218

Email - dwheel11@jhu.edu

Wheeler, D. S., Sherwood, A., & Holland, P. C. (2008). Excitatory and inhibitory learning with absent stimuli. Journal of Experimental Psychology: Animal Behavior Processes, 34, 247-255.

 

 

 

 

 

Raj Ratwani

Department of Psychology

George Mason University

MSN 3FS

Fairfax, VA 22030-4444

Email - rratwani@gmu.edu

Ratwani, R. M., Trafton, J. G, & Boehm-Davis, G. (2008).  Thinking graphically: Connecting vision and cognition during graph comprehension. Journal of Experimental Psychology: Applied, 14, 36-49.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nash Unsworth

Department of Psychology

University of Georgia

Athens, GA 30602-3013

Email - nunswor@uga.edu

Unsworth, N., & Engle, R. W. (2008).  Speed and accuracy of accessing information in working memory: An individual differences investigation of focus switching.  Journal of Experimental Psychology: Learning, Memory, and Cognition, 34, 616-630.

 

 

 

Stephen Cooper

School of Psychology

Bangor University

The Brigantia Building

Penralt Road

Bangor LL57 2AS

Wales

United Kingdom

Email - pspe20@bangor.ac.uk

Cooper, S. & Mari-Beffa, P. (2008).  The role of response repetition in task switching. Journal of Experimental Psychology: Human Perception and Performance, 34, 1198-1211.