Below is the complete list of current SoAP leadership. We thank them for their invaluable contribution to keep the division moving along with our mission and serve our members.

Alan J. Bundy
Alan J. Budney
Department of Psychiatry Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth, Addiction Treatment and Research Program Rivermill Complex, Suite B3-1 85 Mechanic St. Lebanon, NH 03766 Office Phone: 603-653-1821

Sherry McKee
Sherry McKee
Professor, Psychiatry Yale University School of Medicine 2 Church St South, Suite 109 New Haven, CT 06519 Phone: 203-737-3529
Fax: 203-737-4243

John F. Kelly
Past President
John F. Kelly
MGH-Harvard Center for
Addiction Medicine
60 Staniford Street
Boston, MA 02114
Telephone: (617) 643-1980
Fax: (617) 643-1998

Amee Patel
Brandon G. Bergman
MGH/Harvard Center for Addiction Medicine
60 Staniford Street
Boston, MA 02114
Telephone: (617) 643-7563

Jennifer F. Buckman
Jennifer F. Buckman
Center of Alcohol Studies
Rutgers University
607 Allison Rd
Piscataway, NJ 08854-8001
Telephone: (732) 445-0793
Fax: (732) 445-3500

Joel W. Grube
Joel W. Grube
Prevention Research Center PIRE 180 Grand Avenue Suite 1200 Oakland, CA 94612-3749
Phone: 510-883-5722
Mark Schenker
Mark Schenker
Licensed Psychologist
8506 Germantown Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19118
Phone: (215) 381-0455

Krista M. Lisdahl
Krista M. Lisdahl
Department of Psychology University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee
P.O. Box 413 Milwaukee,
WI 53201
Phone: (414) 229-4746
Ray Hanbury
Council Representative
James H. Bray
Department of Family & Community Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine 3701 Kirby Drive, Suite 600 Houston, TX 77098
Phone: (713) 798-7752
Jalie Tucker
Council Representative
Linda Sobell
ABPP Center for Psychological Studies Nova Southeastern University 3301 College Avenue Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33314

Early Career Representatives to the Board
Allison Labbe

Advocacy & Policy
Stephen Proctor


Student Representatives to the Board
Lauren Hoffman
Noah Emery

Finance & Budget
David Eddie

Advocacy & Policy
James Bray

Nancy A. Piotrowski

Communication and Technology
Nancy A. Piotrowski

Convention 2015
Kristina Jackson
Suzette Glasner-Edwards

Convention 2014
Kristina Jackson

Convention 2013
Jennifer F. Buckman

CPA 2015
Katie Witkiewitz
Jennifer Buckman

CPA 2014
Katie Witkiewitz
Jennifer Buckman

Education & Training/CE
Chris Martin
Cynthia Glidden-Tracey

Fellows & Awards
Sandra Brown

Finance & Budget
Marsha Bates

Robert Leeman

Bruce S. Liese

Nominations & Elections
Amy Rubin

Science Advisory
Krista Lisdahl

Population and Diversity Issues
Ezemenari Obasi

TAN Editor
Bettina Hoeppner

Ken Weingardt

APA Education Directorate
Warren Bickel

APA Practice Directorate

Mark Schenker

APA Public Interest Directorate
James H. Bray

APA Science Directorate
Krista M. Lisdahl

APA Task Force on Caregivers
Kim Kirby

Committee on Advancement of
Professional Practice (CAPP)

Ray Hanbury

Federal Advocacy Coordinator (FAC)

Nancy A. Piotrowski

International Relations in Psychology (CIRP)

Sharon Wilsnack

Women in Psychology Network
Maria Felix-Ortiz

Research Society on Alcoholism (RSA)
Sara Jo Nixon

Association for Behavioral & Cognitive Therapy (Addictive Behaviors SIG)
Clayton Neighbors

Society for Research on Nicotine and Tobacco
Tom Brandon

College of Professional Psychology
Sandy Brown

APAGS Division Student Representative Network (DSRN)
Lauren Hoffman

Canadian Psychological Association, Substance Abuse/Dependence Section
David Teplin

Early Career Psychologist Network
Allison Labbe

Division 17
Matthew Martens

Friends of NIAAA
Carlo diClemente

Friends of NIDA


2013-14: John F. Kelly, PhD 

2012-13: Sara J. Nixon, PhD
2011-12: Warren Bickel, PhD 

2010-11: Frederick Rotgers, PsyD 

2009-10: Lisa M. Najavits, PhD 

2008-09: Thomas H. Brandon, PhD 

2007-08: Nancy A. Piotrowski, PhD 

2006-07: Kim Fromme, PhD 

2005-06: Marsha E. Bates, PhD 

2004-05: Carlo C. DiClemente, PhD 

2003-04: Kathleen M. Carroll, PhD 

2002-03: Rudy E. Vuchinich, PhD 

2001-02: Barbara S. McCrady, PhD 

2000-01: Kenneth E. Leonard, PhD 

1999-00: Arthur T. Horvath, PhD 

1998-99: Sandra Ann Brown, PhD 

1997-98: Robert A. Zucker, PhD 

1996-97: George DeLeon, PhD 

1995-96: Mark S. Goldman, PhD
1994-95: Raymond F. Hanbury, Jr., PhD 

1993-94: Jalie A. Tucker, PhD 

1992-93: W. Miles Cox, PhD

Members at Large

G. Alan Marlatt

Herbert Freudenberger

Curtis Barrett

Jerome Platt

Sandra Brown

Kenneth Leonard

Kim Fromme

Daniel Kivlahan

Keith Humphreys

Rudy Vuchinich

Nancy Piotrowski

Harry K. Wexler

Howard Liddle

Jalie Tucker

Martin Iguchi

Doug Marlowe

Sara Jo Nixon

Kristen G. Anderson

Clayton Neighbors

John F. Kelly

Division Representatives

Herbert Freudenberger

Jalie Tucker

Sandra Brown


Daniel Kivlahan

Arthur Horvath

Gregory Smith

Mariela Shirley

Laurie Roehrich



Angela Bethea

Amee Patel

Copyright 2009 APA, Division 50
All Rights Reserved.
750 First Street, NE
Washington, DC 20002-4242
Telephone: 202-216-7602
Point of Contact:
Keith Cooke