Congratulations to the recipients of American Psychological Foundation awards and grants

Professional development and networking opportunities

APF Professional Development Awards for High School Psychology Teachers

The APA Education Directorate and the APA Committee of Teachers of Psychology in Secondary Schools (TOPSS) congratulate the following recipients of the American Psychological Foundation (APF) Professional Development Awards for High School Psychology Teachers:

Lori Fisher, Animas High School, Durango, Colo.

Bernadette Gerace, Prosper High School, Prosper, Texas

Gary Grandon, American Hebrew Academy in Greensboro, N.C.

Joyce Hannula, Bozeman High School, Bozeman, Mont.

Janice Henly, Kelly Road Secondary School, Prince George, British Columbia, Canada

Sean Hill, Farwell High School, Farwell, Mich.

Yadira Sanchez, Academía María Reìna, San Juan, Puerto Rico

These awards help high school psychology teachers travel to and attend regional or national teaching and/or psychology conferences. The awarded funds can be used to offset the costs of travel, conference registration, and housing accommodations. Winners received funding for attendance at conferences such as the 119th Annual APA Convention in Washington, DC, and the 34th Annual National Institute on the Teaching of Psychology in St. Pete Beach, Fla.

APF High School Psychology Teacher Network Grant

The APA Education Directorate and the APA TOPSS Committee would like to congratulate Kristian Martineau of Grimsley High School in Greensboro, NC, this year’s recipient of the APF High School Psychology Teacher Network Grant. This grant was awarded to support Ms. Martineau’s efforts to establish an organization of high school psychology teachers in North Carolina, with the ultimate goal of creating a community of teachers that collaborates and meets on a regular basis.

The purpose of this grant is to support the development of local and regional networks of psychology teachers and to support a local or regional teaching workshop or conference for high school psychology teachers.

The awards and grant mentioned above were made possible through a generous gift from Dr. Lee Gurel to APF.