Four psychologists are among those honored as professors of the year

Psychology professors honored

In November 2011, the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Center for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) announced the 2011 U.S. Professors of the Year Awards. This annual awards program recognizes extraordinary dedication to undergraduate teaching.

In 2011, four educators were honored as recipients of the national awards. A State Professor of the Year was also named in 27 states.

In 2011, Steven Chew, PhD, professor of psychology at Samford University in Birmingham, AL, was named a U.S. Professor of the Year National Winner. In addition, two professors of psychology were named State Professors of the Year. Jonathan Golding, PhD, professor of psychology at the University of Kentucky, was named the Kentucky State Professor of the Year. And, Phil McClung, PhD, professor of psychology at West Virginia University at Parkersburg, was named the West Virginia State Professor of the Year.

The APA Education Directorate is delighted to congratulate Drs. Chew, Golding, and McClung.