Postdoctoral residencies: highlights from SoA

A summary of changes from the G&P to the proposed SoA for postdoctoral residencies.

Postdoctoral residencies

What has not changed?
  • Postdoctoral programs can be in traditional practice areas; proficiencies with those areas or in specialty practice areas (Standard I.A).
  • Programs can be located in one institution, or in consortia (Standard I.B.2).
  • Standards for education and training of health service psychologists are the same for programs in secular and faith based settings (formerly Footnote 4 — Standard I.B.3).
  • Postdocs must be funded (Standard I.B.4.b).
  • Postdocs receive at least two (2) hours of individual supervision per week by a doctoral-level licensed psychologist (Standard II.B.4.d).
  • Flexibility in regard to how competencies are achieved by postdocs and assessed by faculty/supervisors (Standards II.B-C).
  • Demonstration by the program that outcomes have been achieved as appropriate for the program aims (Standard II.C.) and at all appropriate levels.
  • Importance of diversity:
    1. In policies and procedures to ensure nondiscrimination (Standard I.D.1).
    2. In creating an environment that nurtures all postdocs for success (Standard I.D.2).
    3. As a competency (Standard II.B.1.b).
    4. In recruitment of postdocs (Standard III.A.3) and staff recruitment and retention (Standard IV.B.2).
  • Requirement for clear and accurate public information (Standard V.A).
What has changed?
  • Move from “professional psychology” to Health Service Psychology (HSP) (Standard I.A.1 — defined further in the glossary).
  • Programs that require substantial research activities must demonstrate how these research activities are directly related to HSP competencies and how the program ensures all residents attain the required HSP competencies at an advanced level (Standard I.A.3).
  • Integrate the concepts currently found in Footnote 4 of the G&P into the SoA (Standard I.B.3).
  • Place competencies and their assessment together in the standards (Standard II.B).
  • Replace “model” with program aims and a set of profession-wide competencies (Standard II.B.1-3) — three levels of competencies:
    1. Level 1 — advanced profession-wide competencies required of all residents:
      1. Integration of science and practice (includes evidence-based practice).
      2. Diversity (includes issues of cultural and individual diversity relevant to advanced practice, as appropriate to population served and specialty area).
      3. Ethics (includes professional conduct, ethics and law, and other standards for providers of psychological services).
    2. Level 2 — program-specific, area-of-emphasis, or proficiency competencies:
      1. The program requires all its residents to demonstrate professional psychological competencies at an advanced level in those domains integral to achieving its aims.
    3. Level 3 — specialty competencies.