Summary of the Assessment CyberGuide for Learning Goals & Outcomes in the Undergraduate Psychology Major

Introductory Materials

(Second Edition, November 2009)
Compiled by Thomas Pusateri with assistance from Jane Halonen, Bill Hill & Maureen McCarthy
Produced under the auspices of the Board of Educational Affairs (BEA), American Psychological Association (APA)


The Assessment CyberGuide evolved from the work of the APA Board of Education Affairs' (BEA) Task Force on Psychology Major Competencies. In March 2002, the BEA endorsed the task force's report on Undergraduate Psychology Major Learning Goals and Outcomes. Subsequently, BEA charged the task force to develop a companion document to address assessment strategies based upon these learning goals and outcomes. Members of the task force convened an Assessment CyberGuide Task Force, which produced the first version of the Assessment CyberGuide in 2002. In 2006, the APA Council of Representatives adopted a revised version of the task force's report under the title APA Guidelines for the Undergraduate Psychology Major. In 2009, the Assessment Cyberguide Revision Task Force updated the CyberGuide to reflect current practice and revised links. The CyberGuide serves as a companion resource for implementing the APA Guidelines for the Undergraduate Major in Psychology. These resources should aid psychology departments and their faculty to design the most appropriate and effective assessment plans. We have organized this Cyberguide into four parts that will assist departments in developing assessment plans:

A. Understanding Assessment: Departmental, Institutional, Educational, and Societal Perspectives
B. Designing Viable Assessment Plans
C. Sustaining an Assessment Culture
D. Applying Assessment Strategies in Psychology


We are taking advantage of the flexibility of the cyber medium to provide links to resources or the full-text documents when they are available. Otherwise, the recommendations and insights provided in this CyberGuide emerge from the collective experience and scholarship of the members of the Assessment CyberGuide Task Force and the Assessment CyberGuide Revision Task Force. 

Members of the Task ForceAcare indebted to the contributions of Jane Halonen and the members of both CyberGuide Task Forces who spent countless hours working on this project. In addition, we extend special thanks and appreciation to Tom Pusateri for his extensive editing, formatting, and additions to the current revision.

Members of the Assessment CyberGuide Task Force (2002)
  • Jane S. Halonen (Chair), James Madison University

  • Drew C. Appleby, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

  • Charles L. Brewer, Furman University

  • William Buskist, Auburn University

  • Angela R. Gillem, Arcadia University

  • Diane Halpern, Claremont McKenna College

  • G. William Hill IV, Kennesaw State University

  • Margaret A. Lloyd, Georgia Southern University

  • Jerry L. Rudmann, Coastline Community College

  • Valjean M. Whitlow, Belmont University

  • APA Staff Liaisons: Barney Beins and Martha Boenau

Members of the Assessment CyberGuide Revision Task Force (2007-2009)
  • Jane S. Halonen, University of West Florida

  • G. William Hill, IV, Kennesaw State University

  • Maureen A. McCarthy, Kennesaw State University

  • Thomas P. Pusateri, Kennesaw State University

  • APA Staff Liaisons: Robin Hailstorks and Martha Boenau


Please direct inquires about the Assessment Cyberguide to Robin Hailstorks, Associate Executive Director and Director Precollege and Undergraduate Program, American Psychological Association, 750 First Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002-4242. Email Robin Hailstorks

  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5