Recipients of 2012 APF awards and grants announced

High school teachers benefit from APF funding to promote professional development

The APA Education Directorate and the APA Committee of Teachers of Psychology in Secondary Schools (TOPSS) congratulate the following teachers for being named this year’s recipients of the American Psychological Foundation (APF) Professional Development Awards for High School Psychology Teachers:

  • Sean Hill of Farwell High School (Farwell, Mich.) 

  • Amanda Meyer of Eleanor Roosevelt High School (Eastvale, Calif.) 

  • Scott Reed of Hamilton High School (Chandler, Ariz.) 

  • Melissa Schaefer of Mundelein High School (Mundelein, Ill.) 

  • Allyson Steffen of Druid Hills High School (Atlanta, Ga.) 

  • Sean Tischler of Salesianum School (Wilmington, Del.)

The APF Professional Development Awards were given to help high school psychology teachers travel to and attend regional or national teaching and/or psychology conferences. The awarded funds can be used to offset the costs of travel, conference registration and housing accommodations. Winners received funding for attendance at conferences such as the annual APA convention in Orlando, Fla., the National Council for the Social Studies Conference in Seattle, Wash. and the AP Summer by the Sea Institute in San Diego, Calif.

Additionally, the APA Education Directorate and the APA TOPSS Committee would like to congratulate the following teachers for receiving 2012 APF High School Psychology Teacher Network Grants: 

  • Sandra Alvarado of Wisconsin Virtual Academy (Theresa, Wis.) 

  • William Elmhorst of Marshfield High School (Marshfield, Wis.) 

  • Kimberly Patterson of Cypress Bay High School (Weston, Fla.) 

  • Michael Sullivan of Hopkinton High School (Hopkinton, Mass.) 

  • Sean Tischler of Salesianum School (Wilmington, Del.)

These grants were awarded to support efforts to support the development of local and regional networks of psychology teachers in Wisconsin, South Florida, Massachusetts and Delaware/Maryland/New Jersey/Pennsylvania.

Both of these award programs were made possible through a generous gift from Dr. Lee Gurel to APF.

Please visit the TOPSS website in late 2012 or early 2013 for information about funding opportunities next year.