Money Matters

Fourteen up-and-coming psychology students won 2003 graduate research scholarships from the American Psychological Foundation (APF) and the Council of Graduate Departments of Psychology (COGDOP).

See Funding Opportunities for information on applying for the 2004 awards.

The four largest prizes went to:

Amy J. Jak, who won the $2,500 APF Henry H├ęcaen Scholarship. Jak is pursuing her doctoral degree in the neuropsychology track of the clinical psychology program at the University of Cincinnati. Her research focuses on neuropsychological and neuroanatomic aspects of serious mental illness and on neurological disorders such as multiple sclerosis.

Angela L.H. Buffington, PhD, who won the $2,500 APF Manfred Meier Scholarship. Buffington recently completed the doctoral program in clinical psychology at Duke University and is a postdoctoral fellow in neuropsychology at the Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore. Her research focuses on the ecological validity of neuropsychological assessment tools and on improving functional outcomes for people with neuropsychological deficits and their families.

Dana Byrd, who won the $3,000 APF/COGDOP Ruth G. and Joseph D. Matarazzo Scholarship. Byrd is a doctoral candidate in the department of psychology at the University of Florida. She is using behavioral and psychophysiological measures to examine the normal and abnormal development of processes such as anticipation, preparation and planning.

Stewart Shankman, who won the $2,000 APF/COGDOP Clarence J. Rosecrans Scholarship for his research on the classification and co-morbidity of mood disorders. Shankman is a fifth-year doctoral student in clinical psychology at the State University of New York at Stony Brook.

The 10 students who received $1,000 APF/COGDOP awards are:

Adam Brickman, a sixth-year doctoral student in the neuropsychology subprogram at Queens College at the City University of New York Graduate Center. Brickman won for his work on understanding the morphological and clinical characteristics of patients with schizophrenia.

Sherrie Delinsky, a fourth-year clinical psychology doctoral student at Rutgers University. Delinsky won for her research on the effectiveness of mirror exposure in the treatment of body-image disturbance.

Stephen Gillaspy, a sixth-year doctoral student in clinical psychology at Oklahoma State University. Gillaspy won for his study of the effects of peer delinquency, peer involvement and peer attachment on adolescent problem behavior.

Michael Himle, a second-year social psychology doctoral student at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Himle won for his research on the environmental variables that may control expression and suppression of tics in children with Tourette's syndrome.

Jia Liu, a third-year doctoral candidate in social psychology at Purdue University. Liu won for her research on the possible different cognitive processes that occur before and after people encounter the "attitude object."

Dominique Morisano, a second-year student in the school and applied child psychology program at McGill University. Morisano won for her behavioral and genetic study on the role of the dopamine-transporter gene in task-disengagement behaviors in a nonclinical sample of school children.

Elizabeth Podniesinski, a fifth-year doctoral student in clinical psychology at Boston University. Podniesinski won for her examination of the effects of the Sept. 11, 2001 terrorist attacks on the development and course of post-traumatic stress disorder symptoms in children.

Kalynn Schulz, a third-year student in the behavioral neuroscience program at Michigan State University. Schulz won for her investigation of pubertal maturation of the brain from a developmental neurobiological perspective.

Jessica Tracy, a fifth-year doctoral student in personality and social psychology at the University of California, Davis. Tracy won for her research on the possibility that "pride" may be included in a small set of basic emotions that have universally recognized nonverbal expressions.

Lauren Warren, a fifth-year clinical psychology doctoral student at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. Warren won for her research on the cognitive precursors to Alzheimer's disease.