Red ink pen checking a paper box

Vote for APAGS leaders

The 2005 APAGS elections will take place April 1-29. During the ballot period, APAGS members can read candidate statements and vote online at the APAGS Web site. APAGS encourages all members to vote.

Apply for 2005 APAGS scholarships and awards

The American Psychological Association of Graduate Students (APAGS) seeks applications for its 2005 scholarships, grants and awards. The recognitions honor students and faculty for excellence in several areas, such as working with underserved populations or researching diversity.

To be eligible to apply or nominate a candidate, graduate students must be enrolled in good standing at least part time at a regionally accredited university.

The application and nomination deadline is June 1, except when noted otherwise. 

The awards are:

  • The David Pilon Scholarship for Training in Professional Psychology, a $1,000 scholarship to support training and education in professional practice.

  • The Ellin Bloch and Pierre Ritchie Honorary Scholarship, a $1,000 prize that honors research on a social issue or underrepresented group in psychology. This year's topic is trainee competence.

  • The Larry J. Bass Jr. Memorial Scholarship Award, a $1,000 scholarship for research on the regulation of psychology, such as analysis of the impact of prescription privileges on the practice of psychology.

  • The Scott Mesh Honorary Scholarship for Research in Psychology, a $1,000 prize for dissertation research in any field of psychology.

  • The Raymond D. Fowler Award, which honors a psychologist who has made an outstanding contribution to students' professional development.

  • The Department of the Year Award, a $1,000 prize that honors a graduate psychology department for excellence in meeting students' needs.

  • The Diversity Dissertation Scholarship, a $1,000 prize to support a dissertation concerning issues of diversity.

  • The Nancy B. Forest and L. Michael Honaker Master's Scholarship for Research in Psychology, a $1,000 award for thesis research at the master's level in any field of psychology.

  • The Kenneth and Mamie Clark Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Professional Development of Ethnic Minority Graduate Students, which honors an ethnic-minority psychologist for contributions to the academic and professional development of minority students.

  • The APAGS Committee on Ethnic Minority Affairs (CEMA) Grant Program, which offers $500 grants to support projects on recruiting, retaining or enhancing the training of ethnic-minority graduate students. The application deadline is July 1.

  • The APA/APAGS Award for Distinguished Professional Contribution by a Graduate Student, a $1,000 prize that honors a graduate student for his or her work with an underserved population. The award offers free travel to APA's 2005 Annual Convention in Washington, D.C., Aug. 18-21.

Be an APAGS ambassador

Students seeking to take full advantage of the networking opportunities at APA's 2005 Annual Convention in Washington, D.C., can sign up to work as an ambassador for APAGS.

Ambassadors provide information on convention events, distribute APAGS promotional items and monitor APAGS programs by taking head counts and collecting participant evaluations. For more information, visit the APA APAGS Web site.

Learn to navigate the internship application process

APAGS will host a pre-convention internship workshop on Aug. 17 in Washington, D.C., prior to APA's 2005 Annual Convention. The workshop will offer tips on finding a psychology internship and guidance on the application and Association of Psychology Postdoctoral and Internship Centers (APPIC) Match process. Participants will receive a free copy of "Internships in Psychology: The APAGS Workbook for Writing Successful Applications and Finding the Right Fit" (APA, 2004).

Registration is $25 for APAGS members and $30 for nonmembers. Registration after July 15 is $30 for members and $35 for nonmembers. For more information, visit the APA APAGS Web site.

This article was updated in September 2012 to link to the most recent edition of "Internships in Psychology."

ACT honors student advocates

APAGS's Advocacy Coordinating Team (ACT) recognized its state advocacy coordinators and campus representatives for their outstanding work for APAGS-ACT between November and December.

The ACT Excellence in Leadership Award winners are:

Deb Horn, of Argosy University/Dallas and state advocacy coordinator for Texas

Nikki Nieset, of Arizona State University and state advocacy coordinator for Arizona

Ashley Bittle, of Argosy University/Phoenix and state advocacy coordinator for Utah

The ACT Campus Leadership Award winners are:

Eric Rosen, of the University of Florida

Ayna Johansen, of Wayne State University

Susan Jobe, of Emporia State University

Tara Krog, of the University of South Dakota

Jennifer Harrington, of the University of New Mexico

Aimee Knupsky, of the University of New Mexico

Melissa Noya, of Carlos Albizu University

John Krogh, of Idaho State University

Candace Conner, of Argosy University/Dallas

Amina Mahmood, of the University of Iowa

Kristine Rork, of West Virginia University

Eric Sprankle, of Xavier University

Mariela Leon, of Carlos Albizu University

For more information on the ACT Network, visit the APA APAGS Web site.

Apply for APF neuropsychology scholarships

The American Psychological Foundation (APF) and Div. 40 (Clinical Neuropsychology) seek nominations for the Henry Hécaen and Manfred Meier Neuropsychology scholarships. Both scholarships offer one-year $2,500 grants to two graduate students who show promise or achievement in their scholarly and research activities.

To apply, send a letter documenting your scholarly or research accomplishments. Explain your need for the financial award and what it will be used for. Your faculty mentor or director of training must sign and verify the accuracy of the application. Send seven copies of the letter and any supporting materials, such as a copy of the cited scholarly or research work, to Shana Hawkins, APF Program Coordinator, Hécaen and Meier Scholarships, American Psychological Foundation, at the APA address. The application deadline is June 1.

Committee on Children, Youth and Families seeks student nominations

APA's Committee on Children, Youth and Families (CYF) is asking students to nominate psychologists interested in linking research and policy for children and families. Committee members are expected to assume leadership on one project during their three-year term.

Each candidate should submit the following:

  • A letter indicating a willingness to serve

  • A one-page description of a project on applying psychology to the well-being and optimal development of children, youth and families

  • A curriculum vitae

Committee members attend two meetings a year in Washington, D.C., with expenses reimbursed by APA, and participate in conference calls.

Nomination materials must be received by Aug. 29. Although it is not required, candidates can submit no more than three letters supporting their nomination. Send materials to CYF Nominations, c/o Trena King, Public Interest Directorate, at the APA address; fax: (202) 336-6040; e-mail.