Someone using a PDA

Get ready for San Francisco

ACT honors outstanding student advocates

Apply for a CEMA Grant

Apply now for Minority Fellowship Program

Get ready for San Francisco

Students interested in presenting at APA's 2007 Annual Convention in San Francisco, Aug. 17-20, must submit their materials to APA's Central Office by Dec. 1 for consideration. By presenting their work at the APA convention, students gain valuable public-speaking experience and professional contacts. APAGS follows APA rules for submissions. Visit the APA Convention Web site for more information on convention policies and how to submit a proposal.

ACT honors outstanding student advocates

The APAGS Coordinating Team (ACT) congratulates its state advocacy coordinators and campus representatives for their outstanding efforts as part of the ACT Network, which advocates for psychology's legislative issues.

ACT recognized the following students between December 2005 and April 2006.

The ACT Excellence in Leadership Award winners are:

  • Nikki Nieset, of Arizona State University and state advocacy coordinator for Arizona.

  • Tara Krog, of the University of South Dakota and state advocacy coordinator for South Dakota.

  • Kirsten Cullen, of Pacific University and state advocacy coordinator for Oregon.

  • Kent Wilson, of the University of Virginia and state advocacy coordinator for Virginia.

The ACT Campus Leadership Award winners are:

  • Anne Malloy, of Argosy University.

  • Angela Torres, of Sam Houston State University.

  • Aileen Hartzell, of the Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science.

  • Carla Morton, of the Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science.

  • Sarah Baker, of Central Michigan University.

  • Sharon Kernen, of the University of New Mexico.

  • Erin Carroll, of the University of Tennessee.

  • Jami Furr, of Temple University.

  • Sarah Johnson, of Loyola College in Maryland.

  • Stephanie Schaffer, of Pacific University.

  • Nikie Adams, of Marshall University.

  • Adrienne Pande, of Northwest University.

Apply for a CEMA Grant

The APAGS Committee on Ethnic Minority Affairs (CEMA) awards up to two $500 grants each spring semester, and up to three $500 grants each fall semester for projects that aim to recruit, retain and enhance the training of ethnic-minority graduate psychology students. Examples include workshops, conferences, speaker series, mentorship programs and the development of student organizations with a focus on multiculturalism or ethnic-minority concerns. Visit APA Awards for details. Applications for the spring 2007 grants are due Dec. 1.


Apply now for Minority Fellowship Program

APA's Minority Fellowship Program (MFP) is accepting applications for its fellowships in psychology and neuroscience. The fellowships seek to stimulate interest in ethnic-minority mental health research and mental health services by providing financial support and mentoring to doctoral students.

The fellowships are:

  • The Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services Fellowship, funded by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. Applicants must be doctoral students in clinical, counseling or school psychology and plan to pursue careers as practitioners or psychotherapy researchers specializing in ethnic-minority populations.

  • The Mental Health Research Fellowship, funded by the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) and geared to those pursuing research careers in mental health issues involving ethnic-minority populations. MFP encourages students who specialize in community, social, developmental, health, aging or cognitive psychology, psychopathology or other mental health areas to apply.

  • The HIV/AIDS Research Fellowship, funded by NIMH and targeting those pursuing careers in HIV/AIDS research or prevention. The fellowship is funded as a subspecialty under the Mental Health Research Program.

  • The Neuroscience Predoctoral Fellowship and the Neuroscience Postdoctoral Fellowship, funded by NIMH to support students pursuing careers in neuroscience-including behavioral neuroscience, cellular neurobiology, cognitive neuroscience, neuroanatomy and other fields.

Applicants must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents enrolled full time in a doctoral program when they receive the fellowship. Mental health and substance abuse services applicants must be in an APA-accredited program. All applicants must demonstrate a commitment to ethnic-minority mental health.

  • Fellowship applications are due Jan. 15. Download an application at the APA/MFP Web site or request one via e-mail, or by writing to APA/MFP Fellowship at the APA address.

-E. Packard