The latest

As if writing a dissertation weren't enough, some graduate students take on APA leadership positions to shape the psychology field even before they fully enter it. To recognize such leadership, Div. 17 (Counseling) has honored current and past APAGS chairs. Five of the honorees — APAGS Chair Konjit Page and past chairs James Campbell, PhD, Nadia Hasan, Michael Madson, PhD, and Carol Williams-Nickelson, PsyD — received the award at the International Counseling Psychology Conference in March.

The division sought to recognize them not only for working to increase students' voices in APA governance, says conference chair Linda Forrest, PhD, but to let division members know "that students in counseling psychology programs were having these amazing leadership opportunities so early in their careers."

The role of APAGS chairs include leading the APAGS Committee, representing 42,000 graduate students and serving on APA's Council of Representatives and Board of Directors.

—D. Schwartz