The latest

Grant recipients

This year, APAGS provided $11,500 to support student research. Here are the outstanding students APAGS helped;

Basic Psychological Science Research Grant winners:

  • Jeffrey Hunger, of California State University, Fullerton, won for his project "Self-Affirmation and Appraisals of Challenge Under Stereotype Threat," and Jill Waring, of Boston College, won for her work in social psychology. Eric Hehman, Nathaniel Lucena and Elizabeth Uhl won honorable mentions.

  • Laura Miller, from the University of Michigan, won an Ellin Bloch and Pierre Ritchie Honorary Scholarship for her project "Evidence-based Interventions for Preschoolers Exposed to Intimate Partner Violence."

  • Rhiannon Smith, of the University of Missouri–Columbia, won a Diversity Dissertation Scholarship for her dissertation, which focuses on the development of cross-ethnic friendships among youth.

  • Jeffrey Hunger, of California State University, Fullerton, also won a Nancy B. Forest and L. Michael Honaker Master's Scholarship for his project "Self-Affirmation and Appraisals of Challenge Under Stereotype Threat."

  • Troy Loker, of the University of South Florida, won a Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Dissertation Scholarship for his dissertation "Learning from Voices of Diverse Youth: School-Based Practices and Policies to Promote Positive Outcomes for LGBTQ High School Students."

  • Kelsie Forbush, of the University of Iowa, won a Scott Mesh Honorary Scholarship for Research in Psychology for her dissertation "Examining the Structure of Eating Disorders through Scale Development."

  • Kylee Miller, of the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, won a David Pilon Scholarship for Training in Professional Psychology for her proposal "Identification and Intervention of Executive Function Disorders in the Portuguese Education System."

  • Mark Mason, of the University at Albany, State University of New York, won an APAGS Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Concerns Grant for his grant proposal for training mental health providers in the Greater Albany area in New York.

  • Chris Alvarado, of Alliant International University, Fresno, Calif., and Joanna Wu, of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, received APAGS Committee on Ethnic Minority Affairs grants for their projects that aimed to enhance education and training opportunities for ethnic-minority students.

—J. Clark