Also in this issue...

APA Recognizes International Award Winners

Rubén Ardila, PhD, Gerard A. (Jerry) Jacobs, PhD, Frederick T. L. Leong, PhD, and Serge Moscovici, PhD receive International Awards.

Award for Distinguished Contributions to the International Advancement of Psychology
Rubén Ardila, PhD
For his distinguished and highly creative work from the most rigorous scientific perspective. As a laboratory researcher, an experimental scientist, and as a psychologist in the developing world who seeks to bridge cultural, historical, and linguistic borders, Rubén Ardila has contributed in a decisive way to the international advancement of psychology. His research with animal subjects and human participants has shed light on the fields of learning, early experiences, and the role of cultural processes in human behavior. He has succeeded in demonstrating that psychology can reach the delicate balance between being a science with universal principles and a field that is contextualized and specific in diverse cultures and historical frames of reference. As a pioneer of psychology in Latin America, Rubén Ardila has had a profound influence on professionalizing the discipline, on ethics, and on social justice.

International Humanitarian Award
Gerard A. (Jerry) Jacobs, PhD
For his pioneering international contributions to the fields of disaster relief, psychological first aid, and the psychological consequences of terrorism. Gerard A. (Jerry) Jacobs has served with distinction as a consultant to national and international organizations and has provided consultation and training to psychological support programs all over the world. He was named APA’s consultant to facilitate its response to the December 26, 2005, tsunami; and he returned from Sri Lanka to set up the disaster mental health program for New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina. By providing inspiration by personal example and applying his considerable professional skill, he has helped establish international networks of trained service deliverers who will contribute significantly to ameliorating the impact of future disasters in particularly vulnerable parts of the world.

Award for Distinguished Contributions to the International Advancement of Psychology
Frederick T. L. Leong, PhD
For his significant and pioneering contributions to the integration of Asian and Asian American psychologies as well as his support of the development and advancement of psychology in Asia. Frederick T. L. Leong has been a catalyst in promoting collaborative research between psychologists in Asia and the United States related to career development, culture and mental health, and cross-cultural counseling and psychotherapy. He sits on the editorial boards of many journals and serves as a consultant on cross-cultural issues and as a reviewer of dissertations, publications, and grants from Asia. He is the founder and first president of the Division of Counseling Psychology of the International Association of Applied Psychology, and he has served on numerous boards and committees of APA and other multicultural professional associations. He is a true ambassador of international psychology, and his contributions to its advancement are indeed remarkable.

APF Wilhelm Wundt-William James Award for Exceptional Contributions to Trans-Atlantic Psychology
Serge Moscovici, PhD

Serge Moscovici, PhD received the 2007 American Psychological Foundation (APF) Wilhelm Wundt-William James Award for Exceptional Contributions to Trans-Atlantic Psychology at the IXth European Congress of Psychology in Prague, Czech Republic, in July. This award, presented by the European Federation of Psychologists Association (EFPA) recognizes North American and/or European psychologists who have made distinguished contributions to the science and profession of psychology and to the promotion of effective cooperation between European and North American psychologists. Moscovici is known for his research and theories on social representations, community influences, social consensus and collective decisions. This award is made possible by a generous gift to APF by Dr. Raymond Fowler, PhD. Ψ