American Psychological Foundation

APF provides $12,000 for LGB family research

APF announces the winners of the 2008 Roy Scrivner Grants, which support exemplary research on lesbian, gay and bisexual family psychology and therapy:

  • Allen Omoto, PhD, psychology professor and director of the Institute for Research on Social Issues at Claremont Graduate University, received the $10,000 postdoctoral grant to examine gay, lesbian and heterosexual family types and adolescent functioning. By documenting the disparities among these groups, Omoto hopes to inform theoretical issues on stress, stigmatization, adolescent development and family processes. He also seeks to contribute to interventions and social policies aimed at increasing adaptive functioning of adolescents and their families.

  • Athena Yoneda, a doctoral candidate in clinical psychology at Stony Brook University at the State University of New York, received a $1,000 grant to examine perceived family support among bisexual individuals and its association with relationship type and well-being.

  • Annessa Flentje Santa, a fourth-year doctoral candidate in clinical psychology at the University of Montana, received a $1,000 grant to survey people who identify as gay, lesbian or bisexual and have been through therapy intended to change their sexual orientation. She will examine their psychological functioning, the role that their families played in reorientation therapy, and the perceived harms or benefits of the therapy.

The APF Scrivner Grants are made possible by a generous bequest from Roy Scrivner, PhD, a counseling and clinical psychologist and former president of the Texas Psychological Association. More information is available online.

APF recognizes life achievement in psychology

APF announces the winners of the 2008 Gold Medals for Life Achievement:

  • Raymond D. Fowler, PhD, will receive the Gold Medal Award for Life Achievement in Psychology in the Public Interest. For half a century, Fowler has applied the principles of psychology to a broad spectrum of social and professional issues. As a young psychologist during the civil rights movement, Fowler helped to reduce racial tensions in Alabama and to promote interracial dialogue. He was instrumental in the restructuring of the Alabama mental health system and, later, the state's prison system. As APA president, and later as chief executive officer, he facilitated APA's financial growth and found innovative ways to bring disparate factions together. In recent years, he has been a leader in international psychology and has promoted the expansion of psychology in developing countries.

  • Alice H. Eagly, PhD, of Northwestern University, will receive the Gold Medal Award for Life Achievement in the Science of Psychology in recognition of her significant contributions to the study of attitudes and persuasion, the psychology of gender, and to the use of meta-analytic techniques. Eagly's work has helped keep the psychology of gender in the mainstream. She is known as a keen observer of human life, an indefatigable colleague, an inspiring role model and a generous mentor. As a mark of her contribution, Eagly has generated for others the conceptual and methodological tools needed to carry on her impressive body of work.

  • Florence Kaslow, PhD, will receive the Gold Medal Award for Life Achievement in the Practice of Psychology in recognition of her major contributions to practice in the areas of couples and family, media, international and forensic psychology and family business consultation. Her foresight in establishing and serving as first president of the American Board of Forensic Psychology advanced this specialty field. Her involvement as an early president of Div. 43 (Family) and formalizing the Journal of Family Psychology during her presidency, her founding and becoming first president of the International Family Therapy Association and serving as president of the International Academy of Family Psychologists are all testaments to her dynamic energy; inclusive, stimulating leadership style; and "can do" philosophy.

  • Theodore Millon, PhD, will receive the Gold Medal Award for Life Achievement in the Application of Psychology. Millon's illuminating and influential clinical work and theoretically original writings revitalized the field of personality disorders. Over the past 40 years, he set a foundation for integrating the four elements constituting a mature clinical science: theory, taxonomy, instrumentation and intervention. He has sought to enrich and coordinate each element with impeccable logic. Millon also constructed his theory to be anchored to evolutionary principles, from which he then derived an innovative taxonomy of maladaptive personality styles, as well as their developmental pathogenesis. The theory and its taxonomy were then creatively operationalized with empirically grounded assessment instruments, producing data-guiding and personalized therapeutic interventions.

Plous is 2008 distinguished teacher of psychology

APF will present Wesleyan University's Scott Plous, PhD, with the 2008 Charles L. Brewer Distinguished Teaching of Psychology Award at the APA/APF awards ceremony on Aug. 15 at APA's 2008 Annual Convention in Boston.

Plous is regarded as a master teacher, a developer of premier Internet resources in psychology and a pioneer of action teaching. At Wesleyan, Plous is known as an extraordinary lecturer and dedicated mentor of teachers. He founded the Social Psychology Network, a set of innovative Web sites used daily by thousands of students and instructors. He has advocated socially engaged "action teaching" that leads not only to a better understanding of psychology but to a more just and peaceful world. Together, these efforts have had a significant influence internationally on the teaching of psychology.

Plous will deliver "Action Teaching: What it is and How it Can Improve Almost Any Psychology Course" at APA's 2008 Annual Convention in Boston.