• Johns Hopkins University honored Camilla P. Benbow, PhD, with its 2008 Distinguished Alumna Award. Benbow, dean of Vanderbilt University's Peabody College of Education and Human Development, helped Peabody earn its recent ranking as the No. 2 education school in the nation by U.S. News & World Report. Benbow is also a member of the National Science Board, the advisory board for the National Science Foundation. Benbow earned her doctorate of education from Johns Hopkins in 1981. She also earned her bachelor's and master's degrees in psychology from the university.

  • Syracuse University Chancellor and President Nancy Cantor, PhD, is one of two recipients of the 2008 Carnegie Corporation Academic Leadership Awards. The awards celebrate outstanding people whose "uncompromising commitment to academic excellence and bold, visionary leadership are establishing new standards for U.S. higher education." Cantor was recognized for elevating Syracuse's national reputation through her "Scholarship in Action" campaign, which helps Syracuse grow and build new programs. Cantor is an honorary trustee of the American Psychological Foundation.

  • Dawn Huebner, PhD, appeared on the "Today" show in June to discuss her new book, "What to Do When You Dread Your Bed: A Kid's Guide to Overcoming Problems with Sleep" (Magination Press, 2008). She spoke with Meredith Vieira about how one in three elementary school-age children still have trouble sleeping independently. "We're understanding how common the issue is now, as kids end up sleeping with their parents, and neither parents nor children get the sleep they need," she says. Huebner's book teaches kids how to overcome sleep problems through cognitive-behavioral techniques. The book is the fifth in the APA award winning "What-to-Do Guides for Kids" series.

  • Laird Edman, PhD, a psychology professor at Northwestern College, was named this year's recipient of the Northwestern Teaching Excellence Award. According to the students who nominated him, Edman is committed to his students in and out of the classroom and is passionate about psychology and teaching.

  • Long Island University has appointed Paul H. Forestell, PhD, as provost of its C.W. Post Campus. Forestell is a psychology professor and former associate dean of the university.

  • Michael Gazzaniga, PhD, professor of psychology at the University of California, Santa Barbara, and director of the SAGE Center for the Study of the Mind, has won the Humboldt Research Prize for lifetime achievements in science. The $93,000 prize honors promising scientists and scholars who have produced cutting-edge research. Gazzaniga is perhaps most famous for his research with split-brain patients and his findings in the area of brain lateralization.

  • Hendree Jones, PhD, received the Joseph Cochin Young Investigator Award at the annual meeting of the College on Problems of Drug Dependence in San Juan, Puerto Rico. The annual award recognizes outstanding research by an early career substance abuse researcher. Jones is research director at the Center for Addiction and Pregnancy at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

  • Elaine LeVine, PhD, visited Amsterdam in June to set up a training program for psychologists in the Netherlands who want to learn more about psychopharmacology and seek prescriptive authority. The two-year Amsterdam training program, which leads to a postdoctoral master's degree from New Mexico State University, will be taught through a combination of online and on-site instruction in the Netherlands and an executive practicum to be completed in New Mexico. LeVine directs the Southwestern Institute for the Advancement of Psychotherapy in New Mexico.

  • Christopher Loftis, PhD, is the new director of state policy for the National Council for Community Behavioral Healthcare in Rockville, Md. The council represents 1,300 behavioral health organizations that provide treatment and rehabilitation services to more than 6 million people recovering from mental illness and addiction disorders. Loftis will advise members on trends in Medicaid, Medicare health-care reform and other policy issues.

  • Michael Morris, PhD, professor of psychology at the University of New Haven, and Tara L'Heureux, PhD, associate professor of psychology at the University of New Haven, received the university's Excellence in Teaching Awards.

  • The William T. Grant Foundation has presented Brian Mustanski, PhD, assistant professor of psychiatry at the University of Illinois at Chicago, with a $350,000 grant to support his research on gay, lesbian and bisexual youth. Mustanski looks at how the Internet plays a role in the sexual health development of these youth, who often lack support in settings that traditionally promote positive attitudes and sexual health practices.

  • Members of the Eastern Psychological Association have elected Kurt Salzinger, PhD, as their 2009 president. Salzinger is professor emeritus and senior scholar in residence in Hofstra University's department of psychology. He will begin his one-year term as EPA president in June.

  • Three high school teachers of psychology have won Excellence in Teaching Awards from APA's Teachers of Psychology in Secondary Schools.

The winners are:

  • Mary Jarvis of Wausau West High School, Wausau, Wis.

  • Katherine P. Minter of Westwood High School, Austin, Texas.

  • Allyson J. Weseley, EdD, of Roslyn High School, Roslyn, N.Y.

SAMHSA appoints Advisory Committee for Women's Services

SAMHSA Administrator Terry Cline, PhD, has appointed four psychologists to SAMHSA's Advisory Committee for Women's Services, which advises Cline and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services on women's substance abuse and mental health issues. They are:

  1. Jean Lau Chin, EdD, professor and dean of the Derner Institute of Advanced Psychological Studies of Adelphi University, Garden City, N.Y. Chin has more than 30 years of experience as an administrator, educator, clinician and consultant in the health, mental health and human services fields.

  2. Stephanie S. Covington, PhD, a clinician, author, organizational consultant and lecturer in La Jolla, Calif. Covington specializes in the development and implementation of gender-responsive, trauma-informed services.

  3. Roger D. Fallot, PhD, the director of research and evaluation at Community Connections in Washington, D.C. Fallot is also the principal investigator on the District of Columbia Trauma Collaboration Study, a federally funded research project examining the effectiveness of integrated services for female trauma survivors with mental health and substance abuse problems.

  4. Britt Rios-Ellis, PhD, professor of health science at California State University, Long Beach, and the director of the National Council of La Raza/CSULB Center for Latino Community Health. Rios-Ellis studies how to improve and integrate women's health outreach and services.

-D. Schwartz